In a fitting and orderly way…

Scripture:
But everything should be done in a fitting and orderly way. – 1 Corinthians 14:40

Observation:
Paul wrote near the end of this letter to the Corinthian congregation that everything must be done in a fitting and orderly way. Why? Because this church was full of people with all the gifts of the Spirit, but they were using them out of control. People were speaking over one another or using glossolalia without interpretation. The message was given without understanding. The body of believers was not being edified but divided.

Application:
When I read Paul’s words about EVERYTHING being done in a fitting and orderly way, it made me think of not just the “order”needed in a church setting or service but in our daily lives. God is not a God of chaos. He gives us a spirit of love, power, and a sound mind. He expects us to be radical in our thinking and service to him, but we are to do things as he dictates not out of random confusion. These words made me think of my thoughts, actions, and speech. Am what I thinking, saying, and doing being done in a manner that God wants? Or, am I just doing things out of my earthly desires? Is the fruit of my lips and life bringing pleasure to God or to me? Am I just doing whatever “feels good” or whatmost the Spirit instructs me to do? These questions really make one stop and think! We need to ensure that how we conduct our lives is done in a fitting and orderly way that pleases our heavenly Father.

Prayer:
Father, giver of life and keeper of all things, glory and honor to you! Lord, I don’t want to be one who goes off half-cocked and lives life in a random and purposeless way. I desire to follow the guiding light of your Spirit and do what you assign to me, as you dictate. There is way too much chaos existing in the world already; I don’t want to add to it. The things I say and do need to be not only in alignment with your written word but following the mandates of your heart. Help me to do all that you say in a fitting and orderly way. Thank you for loving me. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

