You’re comfort is to help others later on.

Scripture:
He comforts us in all our troubles, so we can comfort others. When they are troubled, we will be able to give them the same comfort God has given us. – 2 Corinthians 1:4

Observation:
Paul started this letter to the Corinthian church with these words. He wanted them to know that all they had suffered was for the benefit of others, much in the same way that the apostle’s suffering had been for their comfort.

Application:
The pain and suffering we go through (not just self-inflicted but from living for Christ) exist to give us the knowledge and experience needed to comfort others, who endure the same or similar sufferings. Therefore, the next time you endure a hardship in life, don’t blame God or others. Instead, look to God for your comfort, learn from the experience, and be ready to love someone, whom you encounter going through the same thing. Your tragedy will help someone get through their ordeal. You will be given an opportunity to share God’s love.

Prayer:
Father, praise be to your most holy name! Thank you for being there for me when all others were gone. Speaking of being alone, I’ve struggled with my current situation since I made the decision over a year ago to be on my own, based on selfish pride. My actions created this self-inflicted wound. Companions have evaded me in the past. I made people go away when they only tried to love and befriend me. Thus, I turn to you now for my real companionship and friendship. Yes, having someone in life to share with and grow with would be nice, but I need to rely upon you for everything. So, I ask you to comfort my lonely heart and show me that you are my friend that sticks closer than a brother and that, indeed, I am a friend of God. I love you. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

