Every knee will bow!

Scripture:
But when the citizens of Ashdod went to see it the next morning, Dagon had fallen with his face to the ground in front of the Ark of the Lord! – 1 Samuel 5:3a

Observation:
The Philistines waged war against Israel and captured the Ark of the Lord, the battle in which the sons of Eli died. The victors took their spoil back to their city-state and placed it in the temple of their god Dagon. When they came to pay homage to their god, they found the statue of Dagon face down on the ground in the presence of the Ark of the Lord.

Application:
The Bible states that at the name of Jesus every knee will bow and every tongue will confess that Jesus is Lord to the glory of the Father. Well, here we have an OT example of this taking place. The false god Dagon could not stand in the presence of God. He had a name, Dagon, and behind every idol is a demon. So, the demon Dagon, had to bow before God and acknowledge his supremacy as Lord of lords and King of kings. No one can stand in the presence of God and not acknowledge that he is all mighty and LORD. Therefore, let this demon’s fate serve as a message to all who think that they are mightier than Jehovah. They may stand in arrogant defiance to God in this day and age, but one day (even if it’s the day of judgment) they will bow and acknowledge God’s supremacy!

Prayer:
Father, most holy and wonderful God, I bend my knee and humble myself before you today and acknowledge that you are supreme. There is no god like you! You are the Lord of lords and King of kings. I shudder at the thought that at one time I was arrogant and foolish enough to have willingly defied you and your word. I treated you with contempt and did what my once evil heart decided instead of heeding your word and doing what you desired. However, I am ever grateful that you’ve shown me mercy and grace and allowed me to serve you and be a part of your loving family. May I share this wondrous love with all you place in my path, and may they come to know you as Father also. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

