Guided by the Holy Spirit.

Scripture:o
So I say, let the Holy Spirit guide your lives. Then you won’t be doing what your sinful nature craves.Galatians 5:16

Observation:Paul told the Galatian church that when they are led of the Holy Spirit they would not be living sinful lives. The flesh wanted to do evil things while the Spirit guided them to do what is right and pure in the sight of God. He said that the two continually struggle with one another inside each person. The freedom, then, was found in submission to the Spirit of God.

Application:
Don’t deny it. We all struggle with the battle of Spirit versus the flesh. Temptations come and go, but what do we do with them? Do we give in and sin? Or, do we yield to the Spirit of God, who brings to our memory the Scriptures that tell us what to do in a time of trouble or trial? When we yield our lives to God, the Spirit of God then begins to produce his fruit in us: love, peace, joy, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, humility, and self-control. Against these things there is no law. Why? Because they are the very heart and nature of God. This fruit causes us to do things for and to others that God does. When we do the things of God, we can’t be doing the things of the world. Or at least there shouldn’t be bitter and sweet waters flowing from the same fountain. Therefore, let us put off the old man with all his sinful nature and put on Christ thereby allowing our lives to be guided by the Holy Spirit to do the will of God and please the Father.

Prayer:
Father, I’ve struggled with sinful issues in my life. I will not lie about it, for you knew what I would do before it was done. Thus, I ask you, Holy Spirit, to be my guide and show me how to walk through this life. I don’t want to be a part of what the world offers or condones. I humble myself and ask you to be Lord and King, Jesus, of all that I am and do. I trust you, all-knowing one, to lead me and guide me into all truth. Father, your will and way be done in and through me. I am your vessel of clay; use me as you see best. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

