Beware: Not everyone helping is of God.

Scripture:
They brought the head of Ish-Bosheth to David at Hebron and said to the king, “Here is the head of Ish-Bosheth son of Saul, your enemy, who tried to kill you. This day the Lord has avenged my lord the king against Saul and his offspring.” – 2 Samuel 4:8

Observation:
Two young men serving in David’s forces thought they would go and kill Ishbosheth, son of Saul, who reigned two years over Israel after the loss of Saul. The two went and killed him and brought the head of Ishbosheth to David as a testimonial to their actions. They thought they were doing David a favor by killing “his enemy” and securing his position as king over all of Israel. They murdered an innocent man, which led to their execution by David.

Application:
Oh that all of God’s people would operate in such discernment as did David and other men of God. David knew God would deliver him from all of his enemies, so he didn’t pursue and kill Saul’s kids because of the oath he took with Jonathan. These two thought they were acting on the king’s best interest and may have thought they were doing the “will of God.” Well, that was not the case, and David knew it. We had better learn to trust the Spirit of God and walk in the gift of discernment. True, the Spirit gives that gift to whom he chooses, but we can with time and growth in God learn what is of God and what isn’t. We can also surround ourselves with those who do operate in that gift; that is why there is safety in godly counsel. We have to be aware of the deceptive tactics the real enemy, the devil, employs. There are false prophets and teachers in sheep’s clothing looking to thin the herd because they are ravenous wolves. Don’t be fooled.

Prayer:
Father, how I wish that I had walked in the Spirit of discernment over the years and had listened to you concerning various things. I could have and would have avoided so much pain and turmoil in this life. Now I know the difference and seek to follow your leading and miss such travesty. Help me to actually grow up and mature in you. I need to know who is for me and who is against me. Sometimes, I feel like I am my own worst enemy; however, I will trust in you. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

