A great mystery revealed.

Scripture:
I keep asking that the God of our Lord Jesus Christ, the glorious Father, may give you the Spirit[f] of wisdom and revelation, so that you may know him better. – Ephesians 1:17

Observation:
In the 1st chapter of Ephesians, there is given to us an explanation of why God gives us his Holy Spirit to dwell within us. As Paul addressed the Ephesian church, he told them that he prayed that God would give the Spirit of wisdom and revelation to allow them tho know God better.

Application:
Have you ever really wondered why Jesus said that it was far better for him to go away than to remain on earth? Many preachers and teachers have given the answer – so that the Holy Spirit would come as promised. But why? What good was there in the Spirit coming to us that Jesus himself couldn’t do? We know he was 100% man and 100% God, so why did he have to go away? Jesus in the flesh was limited to time and space; as the Holy Spirit was unlimited by time and space. Again, what difference does this make to you and me?

Well, let’s look at it for a moment. If God is Father, Son, and Spirit, he should have been able to transcend time and space period, which he can. However, he chose to manifest himself in human form in order to pay our redemption price and save us from sin. He then offered us his Spirit to guide and  lead us into all truth. Well, who is the truth, isn’t it Jesus? Yes, he is! Under the Law, the Spirit was put upon certain individuals to accomplish God’s plan in secret. Once the plan of salvation was complete, the Spirit could dwell in and not just upon all followers and believers, who put their trust in Jehovah. His omnipresence could be done without having to hide from the enemy the plan at hand – redemption of man.

We can look further into the word of God and read where we are called the temple of God, in both our physical bodies and as a collective of believers that make up the body of Christ. God chose to dwell in us through his Spirit. The apostle Paul also tells us that the Spirit of God knows the mind and will of the Father and that we are to put on the mind of Christ. We do so not just to know what God wants us to do, but we now have his Spirit leading us and guiding us in order that we get to know God the Father more intimately than ever before. How can a person come to know another person unless time is spent with the other party? Therefore, we are to spend time reading God’s word, praying, and fasting. These three basic disciplines of our faith were not meant for us to move or sway the heart and mind of God but to allow us to intimately know the Lover of our souls, Jesus!

Have you lost your first love? Do you know him? Does he dwell in your heart? Have you accepted his love gift of eternal life through grace by faith? If you can answer , “No,” to any one of these questions, then you need to kneel before the Master of the Universe, Jehovah, repent of your rebellion against him, and ask his beloved Son to scoop you up into his loving arms and cover you in his mercy and grace. This mystery of giving us his Holy Spirit is simply put in that we can come to know our Father in greater detail, love, and intimacy.

Prayer:
Father, how amazing you really are. I knew Jesus promised us your Spirit to lead and guide us and to teach us all we need to know, but I have overlooked this short piece within Paul’s letter so many times. I failed to see until now that your Spirit enables us to be closer to you than ever before. You tell us to draw near to you, so that you can draw near to us. How much closer can I draw than to have your Spirit live within me and speak to me what is on your mind? There is none. Help me to become so intimately sensitive to you that Your Spirit speaks to me in that still, small voice. I never want to grieve your Spirit or cause to shrink back from me because of my doings. Teach me how to be intimate with you spiritually. I have had failed relationship after failed relationship with women that I really don’t know how to be intimate. I knew how to manipulate others into serving my physical wants and desires at the cost of their sanity and peace. Forgive me, please. Change me. Remake me. Cover me with your wings and invite me into your most holy place for times of refreshing and intimate discussion. I love you, Father God. May your will be done in me. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

