Live worthy of your calling.

Scripture:
I urge you to live a life worthy of the calling you have received. Be completely humble and gentle; be patient, bearing with one another in love. – Ephesians 4:1-2

Observation:
Paul notes in the middle of his letter how we are to live in this life around both believers and unbelievers. He tells us that we are to live worthy of the calling God has placed on us as his children. Then the apostles continues with instructions on how to do so: be humble, gentle, patient, and supportive. Not only does he say to do and be these things but to do in a complete manner.

Application:
Do we live a life worthy of our calling? I hear many people talk about how we can do nothing without Jesus, which is true. However, many use this statement as an excuse to live in sin and abuse the grace of God as a license to sin. God forbid such things! The calling we have is as God ‘s chosen children. We did nothing to receive that election. God predetermined who would be his children and who were the devil’s quarry, despite the fact that God wants all people to be his kids! Imagine that, but we rebel against both God and his desire when we refuse his wooing and calling.

Therefore, as the chosen of God, we need to ensure that we are completely humble and gentle, patient, and supportive of others to demonstrate to this lost, dying world that God does love and chooses to be a doting Father to those who truly are his children. God loved the entire world and gave his One and Only Son to die for them and pay their redemption price, but the vast majority of people refuse God’s love because they would have to relinquish their control of life to him. Human nature rebels against God and focuses on greed and self-preservation rather than giving and self-sacrifice, as does God’s love. We can demonstrate to others this agape love by being humble, gentle, patient, and faithful. (These sound a lot like the fruit of the Holy Spirit: love, joy, peace, patience, gentleness, goodness, humility, faithfulness, and self-control.  Things that make you go hmmmmmmm….)

Prayer:
Father, please continue to tend the garden of my soul and bring forth the increase of your fruit in me. Allow me to be known as a man of love, joy, and peace and who is patient, kind, good, humble, faithful, and full of self-control. I know there is no law against such things because they are the product of a life submitted to you in love. I need the fruit of your Spirit rising up and out of me toward others. I want to be the most loving person I can be through the power of your Spirit. In myself I can do nothing but rebel against you. I yield to you kind Sir and humble myself before you in love, so that I may be of service to those around me, who are in need. Blessing and honor and strength to you, O wise king! In Jesus’ name, Amen.

