Are you a bright shining light in the darkness?

Scripture:
Do everything without complaining and arguing, so that no one can criticize you. Live clean, innocent lives as children of God, shining like bright lights in a world full of crooked and perverse people. – Philippians 2:14-15

Observation:
Paul wrote a letter, while in the palace dungeon in chains as a prisoner, to the Philippian church to encourage them on to continuing the good works the Lord called them to do. In his letter, the apostle encouraged them to do all their work without complaining or arguing, as many people were in the habit of doing. No, he wanted them to live their lives in such a way that it could not bring reproach to the name and cause of Jesus. They were to be like bright lights shining in a world full of darkness.

Application:
Are you and I living our lives in a manner worthy of the calling God’s placed on us? Or, are we living in this world and looking/acting no differently from the inhabitants of this corrupt existence? Today, I am convicted by the Spirit of the most high God over my thoughts, words, and deeds. To be honest, I must admit that many times I have appeared no differently from those around me as I go about my daily life. I have been guilty of sounding like the world or even taking part, even if but by association, in things not becoming of a disciple of Christ. It doesn’t matter whether the event seemed insignificant or not, for it impacted my testimony and witness before unbelievers around me. We have to be careful of all that we say and do, for they should be nothing but what the Father tells us to do, as Jesus did.

Prayer:
Father, great and loving and just ruler of this vast universe, may your name be honored and lifted up on high for all to see how great you truly are. I approach your throne today as a son and a servant. I lean upon my Advocate and Lord Jesus to intervene for me and plead my case before you. I confess my sin of looking and acting like the world although I do not love it or want to be of it. Please forgive me your greatness. May the grace you gave cover this sin and cleanse me white as snow and purify me as the innocence of a new born babe. I love you, Sir, and don’t want to bring reproach upon you. I honor you with my words and deeds from this point forward. Help me to stand firm and be aware of my behavior and how it impacts those around me. If I appear no different from unbelievers, why would they want to be a part of your wondrous kingdom? I yield to you. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

