God is the source of our provision.

Scripture:
One day a man from Baal-shalishah brought the man of God a sack of fresh grain and twenty loaves of barley bread made from the first grain of his harvest. Elisha said, “Give it to the people so they can eat.”

 “What?” his servant exclaimed. “Feed a hundred people with only this?”

But Elisha repeated, “Give it to the people so they can eat, for this is what the Lord says: Everyone will eat, and there will even be some left over!” And when they gave it to the people, there was plenty for all and some left over, just as the Lord had promised. – 2 Kings 4:42-44

Observation:
There had been a famine in Israel at the time of this story. A man had brought a large bounty to the prophet of God, but the prophet told him to take it and distribute it to the people. The man thought the prophet had lost his mind because he said to feed a hundred people with such a small amount of food. Elisha told him that God promised there would be food left over to spare. The LORD came through to provide for his people.

Application:
This story is actually a foretelling of the work Jesus did twice in feeding thousands with only a few fish and loaves of bread. The miracle in this story was great but paled in comparison to the one performed by Jesus. In relation to us, I hear God saying that he is still in the business of taking care of his people. He provided for the hungry and thirsty by providing manna and water from a rock in the desert, but how much more will God care for his people in this age? Has he not given us the real manna and real water through the life and blood of Jesus? Is it any wonder that Jesus said those that hunger and thirst after righteousness will be filled? He did tell us to seek first HIS righteousness and HIS kingdom in order that all life’s basic necessities would be met. Do you trust in God to provide for you even if there is only a little set in front of you?

Prayer:
Father, beautiful and majestic King of kings, one who blesses his people with life and a more abundant life, how precious are you? You are kind to a thousand generations of those who love you and serve you with all their heart and soul. Please churn up within me a desire to seek you above all else. I desire your presence in me and wherever I may go. You have given me plenty and even allowed the dissipation of things over time, yet I have always returned you time and again. I, like Peter, know that there is nowhere else for me to turn except you, O King! You are my source and provision. Why would I turn to anyone except you? Even in my own power I would fail to save me or provide for me. I trust in your Spirit to guide me and lead me into all truth. May you be praised for what you’ve done, are doing, and will do tomorrow. I need you. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

 

