One mind, one mission.

Scripture:
The musicians, all prominent Levites, lived at the Temple. They were exempt from other responsibilities since they were on duty at all hours. – 1 Chronicles 9:33

Observation:
In this passage we read of the Levites that returned to Judah from the Babylonian exile. There were 1,760 priests that returned along with many other Levite families. In this listing we are told that the musicians, who used to live at the temple during the days of said structure, were exempt from other jobs because they were always on duty at all hours of the day or night.

Application:
This passage reminds me of my time spent in the military. When we were posted on guard duty, we had one mind set and one mission – to guard everything within the area to which we were assigned. We were not to deviate from our duties even in the slightest bit or face a court-martial hearing that could’ve led to imprisonment, or in wartime death. People on duty as such are not given exemptions from the job they’re assigned. They are entrusted to carry out their duties in precise, orderly fashion by their superiors. The lives of others may depend on it.

Therefore, we have to understand why musicians would be excused from other jobs in context of their primary duty. Musicians were the ones who created the atmosphere of worship within the temple. They played the music that accompanied the singers who lauded the praises of God in verse. If the musicians were to become injured while performing other duties, then they were precluded from worshiping God in song and with instruments. They could not produce the proper environment to invite God’s presence into the temple nor give him the praise he so rightfully deserved as their Lord and King.

Thus, we should learn from their example. We must never let anything distract us from doing the good work that God has assigned us to do, whether singing, playing music, preaching, teaching, giving, or whatever the case may be. God has assigned each member of the body of Christ a specific function to perform. Do that one thing and become great at it. When you do, you will be giving God all the glory, praise, and honor he deserves. You will experience a sense of satisfaction and completeness like none other. Remember to do all things as though unto the Lord, but do that one thing for which you were made with singularity of thought and purpose.

Prayer:
Father, thank you for making me who I am. You’ve given me many talents and gifts to be used for the glory of yourself and your kingdom. I ask that you would help me to concentrate on doing the assignment you’ve given to me. Help me to excel at what you want me to do. May it never be said of me that I shirked my responsibility for the sake of personal gain or pleasure. May I not falter in doing my duty for the kingdom. I am your son and servant. Your command is my driving force. I love you and will do what you’ve called me to do. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

