Learn to act not react.

Scripture:
Don’t sin by letting anger control you. Think about it overnight and remain silent. – Psalm 4:4

Observation:
David wrote this psalm, albeit quite brief, when in distress from those that sought his life. There were people who accused him of wrong doing and sought his demise. In his time of trouble, David cried out to the Lord to save him from his foes and deliver him. He was sorely vexed by his enemies, who angered him greatly. Yet, he chose not to rile against them but turned over his issue to the Lord and allowed him to handle it.

Application:
Isn’t it interesting that David wrote that we shouldn’t let anger control us but to take time, sleep on it, and just keep silent about the whole matter? Then, the apostle Paul comes along a millennium later and says that we should not let the son go down on our wrath and to anger but sin not?!? The whole idea is that we need to learn to act according to what is going on around us rather than react to the problem. When we react, we are more likely to allow our emotions to the better of us and cause us to sin. If we hold our tongue and leave the vengeance to God, then we come out ahead in the matter. People will do things to make you so frustrated that you could pull your hair out, but know this – God requires us to love those that make us feel uneasy or mad or whatever emotion surfaces. Therefore, let us gain control over our emotions, like anger, and sin not by sleeping on it and keeping silent while turning it all over to God.

Prayer:
Father, your word is true and everlasting. In it I’ve read that I am to love my neighbor as myself. Sometimes it’s very difficult to love those that seem to know how to push our buttons and drive us to the edge. I don’t want to be proud and hold my issues in my hand. Your servant Peter said for us to humble ourselves under your mighty hand and then to cast all our cares on you because you care for us. Thus, from now on when I am angry about something or someone, I am going to turn the issue over to you and allow you to handle as you see fit. Vengeance is yours, and you will repay. I don’t want to sin through anger; I’ve done enough of that in the past. I lean on you to fight this. I love you. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

