The Lord examines us all.

Scripture:
He watches everyone closely, examining every person on earth.The Lord examines both the righteous and the wicked.Psalm 11:4b-5a

Observation:
David wrote about how the wicked seem to get away with all the evil they commit. They even succeed in their doings without any apparent repercussions; however, he noted that the Lord watches everyone and does so with a close eye on things. They will not get away with their evil for long because one day they will have to give an accounting to God and will receive the just payment that comes with their deeds.

Application:
If God watches us all and examines every person on earth, then don’t we need to examine ourselves and pay close attention to our thoughts, words, and deeds? Of course! Jesus taught us that sin goes beyond the physical state and actually begins in the heart. Thus, our actions are merely the precipitation of what transpires within the confines of the heart that overflows into the psyche and spills out into the body. Let us, therefore, examine our hearts and determine if there is needed corrective action regarding our conduct not only among the brethren but in the presence of unbelievers. Our daily lives are the real testimony and witness of whom we are in Christ. Our actions and words must align with God’s word; otherwise, we are merely perpetrating a fraud that repels would be converts! If God examines us, we need to police ourselves. He has given us the ability to know right from wrong and the power to live a pure life before him through the power of God the Holy Spirit. What will you do with yourself? Will you look within you and make any necessary changes? Will you ask God to help you make those changes? Or, will you simply go on with life as usual?

Prayer:
Father, I come before your perfect and holy presence with a boldness commanded in your holy word. I present this petition before you, great Sir, that I need fulfilled. My heart has shown me that it is not perfect (as could be expected) and requires some attention. I try my best to live out a holy and pure life before you in humility while being fair and extending mercy, yet I find myself at times not being the best witness I can be. Please help me to make the needed changes within me that will bring about a transformation in me that clearly demonstrates your love and grace and mercy but also your just and righteous ways. I don’t want to send people the wrong message about you or being your disciple/child. I thank you in advance for helping me to be more like you. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

