Led by the light of God.

Scripture:
Send out your light and your truth; let them guide me. Let them lead me to your holy mountain, to the place where you live. – Psalm 43:3

Observation:
The author starts and ends the psalm in a state of seeming despair. He speaks of God being his refuge but then poignantly asks God why he must wander around and be oppressed by his enemies. In the end of this brief piece, the author notes that he is discouraged but will praise God and put his trust in him. To get out of his depressed state, the psalmist requests from God that He send out His light and truth from heaven in order to guide him. These two would then lead this man to the place of God’s dwelling.

Application:
The author of the text, whether David or someone else is immaterial, notes some things that interestingly point to the mission Jesus had while on earth and still does to the present. He requests that God send His light and truth to him. Well, if we remember the words of Jesus recorded by John, Jesus said that He is the Way, the Truth, and the Life. We also read in the gospel accounts that Jesus referred to Himself often as the Light of the world. Thus we can see or at least comprehend how this author’s words were spot on.

Next, he requests that God allow His light and truth guide him. Well, in the Lucan account of the ascension, we read where Jesus told the apostles that it was advantageous for them that He go to the Father in heaven in order that He may send another, the Holy Spirit, to lead them and guide them into all truth. Again, we see that the psalmist had some early insight into the roles of God the Father, God the Son, and God the Spirit, or at least we can see these roles being typified in this text.

Finally, the psalmist asks God to allow His light and truth to guide him to the place where God dwells among men. In the author’s day it was the temple located in Jerusalem, but we know that today the temple of God is comprised of the corporate body of Christ as well as the physical body of each and every child of God. Paul teaches us such in his letters to the churches of his day. As the Light and Truth of God’s words illuminates our hearts, they will teach us of God and His many wonders. These two characteristics of God, if you will, are embodied in Jesus. Thus, the more we come to know Him as God, Father, Advocate, and Counselor, the more His light and truth point us toward him, where he resides within us. Jesus is as close as the mention of His name. He never leaves us or abandons us.

So, what do we take from all this, especially from such a short passage? We are reminded by God the Holy Spirit that we can find our way to the Father by allowing the Spirit to guide us to Him through Jesus, the Light of the world and the Truth, as we spend time getting to know our Dad, Lord, and King, in a more intimate and personal relationship. As we spend time communing with God through prayer and as we read and study His word, it comes alive to us and gives us direction in life and how to live life and allows us to become more like our heavenly Father. Thus, I want to do as the psalmist says and ask God to allow His Light and Truth (both are Jesus) to lead me and guide me to his dwelling place. Why? Because in the shadow of the Almighty there is refuge, as David said!

Prayer:
Father, your Son, Jesus, is that Light and Truth! He promised us another to come and lead us and guide us, who is your Holy Spirit. I am lost in this cruel world without the wisdom, knowledge, and love of my God the Father, God the Son, and God the Holy Spirit. Without you, I am doomed. Therefore, I yield myself to you and ask that you lead me to that Rock that is higher than I because, you, O Lord, are a strong tower from the enemy, the glory and lifter of my head, and the sure, tried stone that is the cornerstone of my faith. I lean on you to get me through life daily. I try my best to be your humble servant and loving child. I may not succeed at that daily, but I know that you will teach me what I need to do to correct that situation either through constructive criticism/instruction or through chastisement. Either way, I know that I will be better for it. Thank you for caring for me and loving me enough to pay the death penalty I could not. I love you. It is not easy being your son, but I love you and want to please you. Thus, I put all my faith and trust in you. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

