What God says to us all!

Scripture:
And this is what he says to all humanity: ‘The fear of the Lord is true wisdom; to forsake evil is real understanding.’ – Job 28:28

Observation:Job makes an interesting comment to his “all-wise, all-knowing” friends, who have come to “comfort” him during his perilous times. He in turn gives them a reprimand for telling him things he already knows. He suffers from the loss of family, finances, but not his faith. The greatest thing he wants is to know directly from God why the misfortunes have happened to him. Through all of his ordeal, Job notes, “The fear of the Lord is true wisdom; to forsake evil is real understanding.”

Application:
Well, I am going to confess to God and to all of humanity via this medium (aka, Internet) that my wisdom and understanding are lacking. I set aside my pride to divulge this information, which is incriminating. However, if we were all honest with ourselves, we would all state that OUR wisdom and understanding are lacking compared to God’s wisdom and understanding. He is the source of all understanding and wisdom. Thus, I openly admit that I DO NOT KNOW IT ALL! There, it is out! Mark it down! On August 3, 2013, I confess my shortcomings and deficiencies.

Now, that the preliminary action is out of the way, I hereby acknowledge God in ALL my ways! I have done good. I’ve done bad. I’ve even done things that are in the whatever classification! Nevertheless, I recognize my need for God in my life greater that I’ve ever needed him before. All the years of study, reading, prayer, fasting, and teaching have shown me one thing – I need God’s wisdom and understanding in my life! The Bible teaches me that the man that lacks wisdom should ask God for it, and he will give it generously to that person! I initiate that request today. God is GOD, and there is no other!

But what does it mean to fear the LORD and to forsake evil? Well, the fear of the LORD is to have the utmost respect and reverence for the Creator of all and the King/LORD of all! Forsaking evil is to change one’s mind about the actions/deeds one does in life and to no longer pursue those wrong things. Today, I seek the LORD and ask him to show me the proper and right way to fear Him. I desire to know God more than I ever have. I would dare say that I want to experience such a personal relationship with Jesus that no one or no thing could ever encroach upon his first chair, top priority status in my life!!!!!

Secondly, I have taken a hard, long look at my life and noticed some things that have no place in the life of any child of God, especially me. To most people they would seem innocuous or of no consequence while others are detrimental to anyone. Therefore, I choose to rid myself of these ails and trust in God to purge me with hyssop and make me white as snow. I need God’s wisdom and understanding.

Prayer:
Father, i bow my head before you and get down on my knees seeking your forgiveness and mercy. I don’t deserve anything from you because in and of myself I am nothing but a dirty, rotten sinner. It’s through the blood of your Son that I even have the opportunity to be redeemed from my original fate. I have not given you honor and first place at times in my life, including recent times. From time to time I’ve allowed things, people, and even ideas to settle in and take your rightful place atop the throne inside this earthen temple. Please forgive me for pursuing my personal interests ahead of what you’ve given me to do.  Forgive me for not heeding the warning signs you placed before me until I hit the proverbial stumbling block in front of me. I lack wisdom in my life about the next course of action to take and how to deal with the pressing issue in my life. Accordingly, please forgive me for the wrong that has resided in my heart that brought about sin in my heart against you and you alone. No person outside of me was hurt; however, it inadvertently affected others through the attitudes and behaviors that emanated from me. How horrible! Thank you for saving me from sin, death, and myself. Thank you for forgiving my sins. Please speak to me and show me the appropriate next step to take in life. I don’t want to be in the state of not hearing from your Spirit. You ARE my source and provision. I don’t want to take for granted the love and grace you’ve shown to me daily. May your Spirit fill me once more and cleanse this heart of mine. Teach me to properly fear you and how to forsake all evil, the small as well as the big. I need you, DAD! In Jesus’ name, Amen.

