Do you know the power of His name?

Scripture:
But I will reveal my name to my people, and they will come to know its power. Then at last they will recognize that I am the one who speaks to them. – Isaiah 52:6

Observation:
God spoke through his prophet Isaiah to the people of Israel about their plight and condition as a nation. In this piece, God recalled the exile and enslavement of his people from the land of Egypt into the hands of the Assyrians. He asked the question of why his people were enslaved and then continued by stating that he would reveal his name to his people, who would come to know the power of it. Why? Because they would eventually come to know that it was God, the Holy One of Israel, who spoke to them.

Application:
God promised to reveal his name and its power to Israel in order that they would it was he, who spoke to them. As I write this devotion, I pause for concern and to inquire of myself, “Do you know the power of His name?” Then I have to answer myself honestly and say that I don’t fully know the power of his name. Then again, do any of us really know the full power of his name? I would dare say, “Not.” The very name, YHWH, in Hebrew is the unmentionable name of God. Even to this day, his inheritance write out that name as G-d instead of YHWH, just out of sheer reverence for his name.

As much as I appreciate the Jewish reverence of the Tetragrammaton, YHWH, God’s name is more than “I AM who I AM.” He is Jesus! He is the Father, the Son, and the Spirit. Throughout the Scriptures we read of the great exploits done in the name of God. We, also, read of the effects God’s name has on this world. It is written, “For every knee will bow and every tongue confess that Jesus is LORD to the glory of the Father. Can you imagine the power of a name that commands every knee to bow in his presence and every tongue to confess that He is LORD!

Oh that we, all, could come to learn the true power of the name of Jesus! Not only does it command respect and reverence and glory, but at the name of Jesus diseases disappear, addictions break, dead people live again, demons are cast out, blind eyes open, deaf ears hear, limbs regenerate, lives transform,  death loses its power, the grave gives up its hold, sins are forgiven, love is given away, needs are met, dreams come true, visions are seen, dreams are realized, and so much more. There is truly one power that exists in the universe capable of overcoming and correcting every situation – the name of Jesus! Is it any wonder why the prophet Zechariah wrote so long ago, “It is not by might nor by power but by my Spirit says the Lord of Hosts”?

We can do nothing in and of ourselves to dramatically change our lives and transform our situation. Even Jesus noted that with man it (salvation) is impossible, “but with God ALL [emphasis added] things are possible.” If you know nothing or very little of the power of God’s name, then I pray that you will call on the name of Jesus, believe that God raised him from the dead by the power of his Spirit, and read the holy Scriptures because the Good News of Jesus is the power of God unto salvation to them that believe, first the Jew and then the non-Jew.

Prayer:
Father, please speak to me and teach me the power of your name. Whether we call you El Shaddai, Jehovah, YHWY, Father, Son, Spirit, Messiah, Creator, Lord, Savior, Redeemer, you are still the same today as you were yesterday and will be tomorrow. The only real power in the universe lies with you! Again, please reveal to me your name as you did to ancient Israel to teach me its power and to enable me to know that it is you that speaks to me. I need to hear your voice oh sovereign Lord. I love you! In Jesus’ name, Amen.

