What have I to fear?

Scripture:
I praise God for what he has promised. I trust in God, so why should I be afraid? What can mere mortals do to me? – Psalm 56:4

Observation:
David writes to us about his take on those who have tenaciously troubled him and made his life difficult. He states that they hound him and pounce on him with slanderous words. They drive him to a point of despair, which makes him wonder why he endures the harm. However, he then turns his attention toward God and says that he is thankful for God’s promises that he will never leave or abandon us. Thus, he has no reason to fear mere mortal men.

Application:
Have any of us ever feared anything in life? Well, I am sure that we all have feared something in life. The beauty of the situation is that Paul teaches that we are not to fear because God doesn’t give us a spirit of fear but of love, power, and a SOUND mind! Even Jesus teaches us that we are not to fear mere mortal but only God the Father, who can throw body and soul into hell, but then again, we are to fear God out of reverence not a trembling awe of being subjugated to lightning bolts. God promises us that he will NEVER leave or abandon us; therefore, if God is for us who can be against us, right? Man may take my mortal life but can never take my eternal life, which is a gift of God through Jesus the Anointed One. Thus, I will be like David and praise God for saving me and keeping safe from harm.

Prayer:
Father, thank you for being a God of truth. You stand behind your word all the time. There is no other truth in the universe other than you. You promise to protect me, care for me, and never leave me. Thus, I give my allegiance to you and trust in you for all you are. I love you and am restored in my faith by the words of my fellow brother in Jesus, David. You are my rock and salvation. I have nothing to fear because you are with me forever. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

 

