What is it you really want?

Scritpure:
Then I pray to you, O Lord. I say, “You are my place of refuge. You are all I really want in life. – Psalm 142:5

Observation:
In a short and seemingly obscure psalm, David notes that he is in a low point of his life. He tells of how he shares his issues in life with God and needs God’s help, but then he turns and says something out of self-pity – no one cares for him or will help him in when in need. Finally he pleads for God to bring him out of his dispair and desolation.

Application:
Have you ever felt like David did in this piece and wondered if anyone really cared? Have you tried to overcome the dispair on your own by trying to fill the void or remove the loneliness through things or people? As David sat captive, he realized that God was truly his only real place of refuge and solace. I am sure that he tried more than once to relieve his situation by thinking of others or wondering if his situation could be turned around if only he had done or said something differently. However, he came to his conclusion that God was all that he really wanted in life. Why? Because God is the only one who can save us from our problems and ourselves.

I have tried on several occasions to look into the faces of people or acquire things in life to satiate my desire for love and being needed. Often times I would cast aside those closest to me because of my pursuit of what I thought remedied my ailment rather than relying on God and his infinite wisdom. I can assure you and testify with certainty that there is nothing or no one in this world who can fufill your dreams, ambitions, desires, and longings like the almighty YHWH, Jehovah! His resources are unlimited. His power in unparalleled. His widsom is matchless.

All I know from experience is that David’s words ring true even today in my life. I wanted the world and all its trappings at one point in my life. I grew up in a modest home lacking nothing regarding this life. I climbed the ladder of material success and enjoyed middle to upper middle-class lifestyles but for what? Nothing. I have had little and have had a lot. The success I’ve enjoyed materially surpassed many in this world outside the first-world nations. Yet, I found myself lacking and needing something more inside. Loneliness and depression surrounded me on all sides despite the crowds of people around me. I needed God’s love more than that of family, friends or spouse. Now, I find myself with reduced material resources and being around more family than I had been in decades, yet I still desire God more than it all. I want to always be like David and say, “You are all I really want in life.” Also, to take on the attitude of Paul when he said, “Not that I was ever in need, for I have learned how to be content with whatever I have. I know how to live on almost nothing or with everything. I have learned the secret of living in every situation, whether it is with a full stomach or empty, with plenty or little. For I can do everything through Christ, who gives me strength.” (Philippians 4:11-13)

And to know that my God is able to supply all my need by his riches in glory in the Anointed One, Jesus, let me remind you of who he really is with this video clip and why God should be all we really want in life!

Prayer:
Father, thank you for loving me despite all my flaws and imperfections. I am nothing without you, and I have nothing without you. You truly are all that I want in life. No one can make me feel the way you do or love me like you do without exception! You don’t require me to perform to receive your love. You are just there and desire me more than I desire you. You are all that I want! Help me to love you more daily. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

 

