I can’t, but God can!

Scripture:
“It is beyond my power to do this,” Joseph replied, “but God can…” – Genesis 41:16

Observation:
Pharaoh had two dreams that were similar in nature, but none of his counsel could provide the interpretation of them. Then the cup-bearer remembered that Joseph the Hebrew had interpreted his dream along with the chief baker’s dream  down to the minutest detail. Pharaoh summoned for Joseph and asked him to interpret the dreams, but Joe replied that it was not his ability to do so. However, God could and would give the king his dreams’ meanings.

Application:
So often we try to do things within our human power and efforts only to end up regretting the mistakes and their consequences that ensue. I hear the Spirit of God reminding me of two passages of scripture: (1) It’s not by might nor by power but by my Spirit says the LORD of hosts and (2) With man it’s impossible, but with God all things are possible. What clearer message could there be for me today than to open my eyes and ears to hear what the Spirit is saying! He says to me (and you) to quit trying to do what only He can do! He says to us that we need to learn to be sensitive to his Spirit as Joe was – sensitive enough to know when and what we can do for ourselves but more importantly to know when and what only God can do!! Therefore, let me be still and know God in his full power and might through the work of his Holy Spirit!!!  So remember that when you are faced with something that seems impossible for you, there is a God who can and will!

Prayer:
Father, wow what a strong and compelling message from you to me today! I’ve read this passage time and again and glanced right over this powerful message. All this time you had Joe teaching me the truth of not only knowing that with you ALL things are POSSIBLE because of you, but you have shown me that I need to be bold enough to admit this fact to others, even those who don’t believe in you like Pharaoh didn’t. WOW! That which I cannot do, you can. I can see the usefulness of telling others that there are things that they and I cannot do, but God can… You are so awesome and mighty, yet you are so loving and gentle! Thank you for reminding me that what I can’t do you can. I love you, Dad. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

