Heaven is near; it’s time to repent.

Scripture:
Repent of your sins and turn to God, for the Kingdom of Heaven is near. – Matthew 3:2

Observation:
John the Baptist went into the Judean countryside preaching a message to the people of Judah. He told them that the kingdom of heaven was near and that they needed to repent of their sins and turn to God. Many would come to the prophet confessing their sins and be baptized by him. Even Jesus came to him to be baptized. John’s message even got hold of the religious elite of the day, to whom he told that they should live lives of repentance if they indeed had repented of their sins.

Application:
Are we proclaiming this message of truth to the people around us who aren’t part of God’s family? Jesus gave the apostles, and hence to us also, the decree to go and proclaim the Good News of his death, resurrection, and the truth of eternal life! Many around us are in need of hearing the message of repenting of their sins and turning to God! The Kingdom of Heaven is near because it exists in the hearts of every man, woman, and child has become a part of God’s family. Others need to know your story and what God has done for you. Do you not know that we are overcomers through Jesus but only by His blood AND the word of our testimony? Let’s seek out the person or people whom God lays on our hearts today and share with them a message of faith, hope, and love and with love being the greatest of these. Someone loved us enough to share their testimony; let’s go and do likewise.

Prayer:
Father, thank you most divine and holy One for loving me and giving your one and only Son for the payment of my sin debt. I couldn’t even begin to pay off the price of my sin. I have confessed my sins and turned to You. I am not excusing anything I’ve ever done or will do that won’t conform to your Word, Will, and Way. I know that forgiveness of sins is no joking matter and should be revered. Jesus gave himself to do away with my sins. You saved me from not only a life of sin, but also from a demon’s hell, eternal separation from you, and torment. Instead you’ve given me life and eternity with you. I know ask you to show me who you want me to speak to today and share with them what you’ve done for me and how you can do it with them. Thank you. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

