Planting seed.

Scripture:
The farmer plants seed by taking God’s word to others. – Mark 4:14

Observation:
Jesus told the apostles and others the parable of the sower. In it he explains that the farmer planted seed that fell in one of four places: (1) on a footpath, (2) on shallow soil, (3) among the thorns, and (4) on fertile soil. He went on to tell them in private what each of the four points meant. However, he then went on to tell them that the farmer sewing seed was actually a messenger of God taking the Word of God to others.

Application:
I’ve long known since I was a child that I was called of God to be his child, from the age of 7. I was baptized in the Spirit of God at the age of 8. Then at the ripe old age of 12 I knew God had not only called me but chosen me to be a messenger of his Word. It was at the tender age of 12 that I taught my first lesson. Then at age 14 I gave my first sermon to a group of young people. Many years would pass before I would give another sermon. Why? Because like the seed that fell among the thorns, I allowed the cares and troubles of life to choke out the very Word of God I’d been chosen to deliver.

While in my thirties, I heeded the urging of the Holy Spirit to re-enter the arena to which I had first been called and chosen of God. Many things had happened in my life between the ages of 14 and 37, yet I did heed the call. I went on to study and acquire credentials to be a “minister” in a professional sense of the word. I preached and taught during the last eight years, and I have had many illuminations of God’s Word in my spirit since then. It has only been of late that I have heard God speak to me about going full-time into service for his kingdom. It excites me yet creates anxiety at the same time.

I began to feel the angst of Noah, Abraham, Isaac, Jacob, Moses, Elijah, Isaiah, and others of old, who were called of God to share his Word yet felt unqualified to do the job. Each of these great “heroes” gave reasons to God as to why they shouldn’t enter into that calling, but God showed them all that it was not in their abilities they were to trust but in him alone. Each of them went on to share the Word of God with the people of Israel and beyond. They were farmers planting seed along the way. The sad point then and still today was (and is) that only a portion or remnant heard and understood the truth of God’s Word and believed it. Is it any wonder that Jesus said that 25% landed on fertile soil and produced a harvest of 30, 60, and 100 times what was planted.

But do you see the exciting part of that last statement? One farmer went out doing the work God gave him by sharing the Word of God with others. Then, the work of that one farmer grew exponentially into a 30, 60 and 100% return on the investment! That is not only exciting but encouraging to us all. For you see, we are all called of God to be his children, but not all are chosen. Of those called and chosen, which is every believer, we’ve been commanded by God to share the Good News of Jesus with the world. Some are meant to share with their hometowns. Others are to share with their nation, yet still others are called to share with the world.

I am one who has been called and chosen of God to share with the world. I wondered for a long time how and when I would accomplish that mission, but God does things in ways we don’t often think of as possibilities. The Internet, and this devotion blog, has become one platform by which I am doing what I’ve been chosen to do – to reach the world. Through the superhighway of information I can reach people across the globe with the Good News of Jesus daily. They are able to read this blog in English, or through the help of Google and other sites, or in their native tongue through electronic, instant translation! On the other hand, God has begun to stir within me the move toward physical sharing of his Word with the nations of the world, in person. I seek his will and provision, for God will not send someone somewhere without giving the provision needed to make it happen.

THUS, I am putting my trust in God to provide and make a way where there seems to be no way to enter into missions full-time. I am prepared to stop all that I am doing and go wherever he states when he says, “Go!” Therefore, this farmer prepares himself for the mission ahead by planting seed here on this site and to do so in person within my Jerusalem and Judea/Samaria and then to the nations of the world. Do you hear the voice of the Father admonishing you to pick up your seed bag and begin scattering seed? The call has been given. It is for all who believe to plant seed. Don’t fear, for as you plant, others water that seed. You will water seed that others have planted. Then GOD WILL give the increase! Just be obedient and do what we’ve been called to do!

Prayer:
Father, you’ve prepared me for a long time in being skilled in planting seed. I have planted seed and watered seed and at times wondered if anything good ever came of the work I did in and through you. However, it has never been my purpose to question the outcome. It has been mine to do the work and then trust you to bring to fruition the good work you started in me until the day of Jesus’ return. Whether the increase is an investment return of 30, 60, or 100% isn’t mine to worry. I just want to be a profitable servant found doing what the master assigned when he returns. Then, he will say to me, “Well done, good and faithful servant. Enter into the rest of your Lord.” I will then be able to celebrate the glory of my God and Lord for eternity with those that were harvested through the planting and watering of seed done my others and myself to which you gave the increase. Therefore, Father, under the direction of your Son, Jesus, I pray to you, Lord of the harvest, to send out more laborers into the fields that are white unto harvest. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

