How are we honoring and glorifying God with our lives?

Scripture:
I will display my holiness through those who come near me. I will display my glory before all the people. – Leviticus 10:3

Observation:
Aaron’s sons offered strange fire before God against his commands. They died for their defiant act of rebellion. Then Moses told Aaron that what God had said to them about being glorified and honored by those who come before him was the reason his sons perished. They’d dishonored God and his Word.

Application:
Moses and Aaron had to relearn the very same lesson Aaron’s’ sons had failed many years earlier. When it came time for Israel to enter and possess the land of Canaan, God ended the lives of his top two generals from the tribe of Levi. Why? Because they had dishonored God before the people. God told Moses to speak to the rock in order for water to come out of the rock and refresh the people; however, Moses, in a fit of rage because of the people’s incessant complaining, forgot God’s command and struck the rock with his staff. God caused the water to come out of the rock because of his compassion for his people, but he refused to allow Moses and Aaron to enter Aaron because of their defiant act of rebellion. Some family lessons are hard to learn, I guess.

Anyway, we do live in an Age of Grace where God overlooks the stupidity of man and doesn’t enact his judgment immediately, as he did in the past. No, he desires that all people come to repentance and be saved; however, God will not be mocked. He won’t allow his name to be profaned among the nations.

I feel deep inside my spirit that God points me today to this verse not out of a prophetic warning of pending judgment but as one of love and grace saying, “Son, I love you, and I want you to honor me before all people. I’ve chosen you to be a messenger of my holy Word, and therefore, I require you to live a life that is holy, as I am holy, and set apart from the foolishness of this world. You are to do so not as an act of being superior in any way but to demonstrate my glory and what it means to be a child of the living God. What purpose does a witness serve that mimics and mirrors the way of the world?”

Wow! What a message! Are we living lives of humility, grace, and compassion? Are our words filled with grace and seasoned with salt? Do we reflect the love of God in us and also for humanity, as God does? Or, are we CINOs – Christians In Name Only – appearing as hypocrites to the world around us? What testimony do our lives and words share? God’s glory? Or, our evil, selfish desires?

Prayer:
Father, my oh my, how you’ve made it plain and clear today! Help me to be one who shows the world the love of my Father and how a life dedicated to you can and should be! Help me to conform to your image daily as I crucify my human nature. To do so allows me to live a life that glorifies you, as I decrease to allow you to increase. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

