We are the children of God.

 

 

Scripture:

Galatians 4:5-7 NLT

God sent him to buy freedom for us who were slaves to the law, so that he could adopt us as his very own children.  And because we are his children, God has sent the Spirit of his Son into our hearts, prompting us to call out, “Abba, Father.”  Now you are no longer a slave but God’s own child. And since you are his child, God has made you his heir.

Observation: 

Paul wrote to the Galatian church about their decision, or at least a portion of the church, to turn from the true gospel he had taught them and return to the religious observation of the Mosaic law. In his letter he told them of the freedom there is in Jesus as compared to the restraints and enslavement through the law. Paul taught that there were two sons…one born under the law and the other by promise – Ishmael and Isaac. Those who believe on Christ are children of God by promise. They are the ones promised to Abraham by God, who would be blessed through his seed, namely Jesus.

Application:

My parents pFatherduring the early years of the new millennium.  I enjoyed them on this earth for some 30 plus years. My relationship with them wasn’t one of great love and admiration, but we did love each other very much. The tie between my earthly dad and I was strained quite frequently by my disobedience and his anger, but we managed to love each other despite it all. That father-child relationship influenced how I came to view my love wnd relationship with God. It too became strained numerous times but managed to remain intact.

What I’ve learned again very recently is that I am a child of God and truly loved by him regardless of my words or thoughts or deeds. Whether I am right or wrong, he doesn’t stop loving me. He is the real, true Father and went so far as to give his Son as payment for my sin debt. He chose me and called me to be his child. His love can never be taken away from me. He wants us to come to know him as Father not just master or Lord or savior because servants are hired and come and go whereas children are forever a part of the family. 

God put his Spirit in us, and he creates in us a desire to know God the Father to the point that our hearts cry out, “Abba, Father” or Daddy!  Do you know God as your Lord and Savior only, or do you know him as Daddy and Father?  I am still learning to know him as Daddy because I will never fully know him until I spend eternity with him.

Prayer:

Father, I want to know you as Dad. You chose me as your child and paid a hefty price to adopt mw as your child.  Help me to know your love and you as my Father.  Your grace and peace be upon me. I cry out to you and desire you above all else.  I love you. In Jesus name, Amen.

 

 

