Understanding what God wants us to do.

Scripture:

Ephesians 5:17 NLT. “Don’t act thoughtlessly, but understand what the Lord wants you to do.”

Observation:

Paul wrote to the Ephesian church about the pitfalls and trappings of the world and how the unbelieving have hardened their hearts against God. He warned them to put away all evil and to live holy lives. However he also told them to know what God wanted them to do with their lives – to do every good work for God as the ecclesiastical gifts equip them do so.

Application:

For a long time I thought that I knew what God wants me to do with my life. I struggled for the longest time with that issue because I tried to do what I thought God wanted rather than listening to God. I acted thoughtlessly as Paul wrote due to human endeavor and effort, but God says that with man nothing is possible because it’s not by might or power but by his Spirit.  Today God the Father reminds me of how thoughtless it is to attempt anything without him and how thoughtless it is to think he doesn’t move on our behalf.  His silence at times doesn’t mean he isn’t working for us because his word says, “For I know the plans I have for you,” says the lord . “They are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope. In those days when you pray, I will listen. If you look for me wholeheartedly, you will find me.”

Prayer:

My Father, please forgive me of my doubt and indecision.  You have a plan and purpose for my life. It is high time I get about the business of your kingdom that you’ve designed for me to accomplish via the power of your Spirit. Today I make it my purpose to no longer act thoughtlessly but to earnestly seek you and to know you as not only God and Savior but Father and lover of my soul. Also I purpose to understand what it is Lord that you want me to do.

