Everything I need is in the glory…Part 1 (with more to follow)

Scripture:
But you, O Lord, are a shield around me; you are my glory, the one who holds my head high.  I cried out to the Lord, and he answered me from his holy mountain.  – Psalm 3:3-4

Observation:
David penned a short psalm to the LORD in which he voiced his escape from the clutches of his Absalom, who wanted to kill his father and take over the kingship of Israel. David fled for his life, and in exile he cried out to God for help and also thanked God for his love and protection.

Application:
David understood something we all could stand to learn – everything we need is in the glory of God. David never knew his future grandson, Jesus, as a grandson, for there were 1000 years between their earthly existences. However, David did know Jesus as the glory of God, the Messiah. He saw through time by faith the One who bring true salvation and love! The prophet king also knew that he had no glory of his own because The I AM is a jealous and consuming fire of a God, who does not and will not share his glory with another. The glory belongs to God Almighty alone!

Hence, we need to learn the lesson that all we need or have need of is in the glory of God. But how is that possible?!? We now have to refer to the Hebraic author, who penned these words,  The Son radiates God’s own glory and expresses the very character of God, and he sustains everything by the mighty power of his command (Hebrews 1:3). Jesus is the very glory of God, himself. From Him radiates the glory of God and in him is expressed the very character of God. We refer to Jesus as the Son of God but also as God the Son. He is the very glory of God! Thus if He radiates and is the glory of God, then all we have need of is in the glory of God, who is Jesus!

David in the aforementioned passage stated that God was his glory and the lifter of his head. How can man have any glory if all glory belongs to God? Simply put, we are joint heirs with Jesus. All that He possesses of the Father has in turn been entrusted to us. “Now wait a minute, that smacks of blasphemy!” Does it? Read on in the scriptures. Jesus said, I have been given all authority in heaven and on earth (Matthew 28:18b) and elsewhere, Look, I have given you authority over all the power of the enemy, and you can walk among snakes and scorpions and crush them. Nothing will injure you (Luke 10:19). Therefore, simple reasoning and deduction show us that Jesus has all authority and has given the true believer authority over all the power of the enemy. What can we conclude from this other than God has entrusted us with that same authority.

We don’t have to walk in defeated lives. We don’t have to succumb to attacks of the enemy. Sure the enemy will come and attack and try to kill, steal, and destroy, but what does the Word of God say? Greater I AM who is in you than he that is in the world. Walk on scorpions; tread on serpents. Crush them!  I’ve given you authority over ALL the power of the enemy. Put on My armor to withstand enemy attacks being careful to pick up the shield of faith to stop those attacks. Will you take a hit now and again? Why, yes, you will. Will it hurt? Of course! Will it be the end? No, God forbid! Any soldier will suffer wounding in combat, but the Great I AM has already paid for the healing through the stripes he bore en route to the cross. You can’t lose! Everything you need is in the glory of God – JESUS! He is the GLORY and the lifter of my head! In Him alone do we trust!

Prayer:
Father, thank you for the gift of eternal life – Jesus! He is the very essence and being of your glory. He shines brighter than the noon day sun or any light that can exist anywhere within the physical realm. Your Word states that the day comes when there will be no need for the light of the star in this solar system because your glory alone will light up the world. WOW! You amaze me at every turn and continue to teach me new things daily. Since the inception of the message on everything I need being in your glory, there has been an urgency in me to want to know that glory and to live in that glory and reflect that glory not in my life but in the lives of all with whom I come in contact. Allow me to be that light and salt you’ve designed me to be. Allow me to see these following me as a disciple of yours who truly believes: They will cast out demons in my name, and they will speak in new languages. They will be able to handle snakes with safety, and if they drink anything poisonous, it won’t hurt them. They will be able to place their hands on the sick, and they will be healed (Mark 16:17-18). In Jesus’ name, so be it.

