The result of making God-honoring decisions.

Scripture:
On the day the Lord gave the Israelites victory over the Amorites, Joshua prayed to the Lord in front of all the people of Israel. He said, “Let the sun stand still over Gibeon, and the moon over the valley of Aijalon.So the sun stood still and the moon stayed in place until the nation of Israel had defeated its enemies. Is this event not recorded in The Book of Jashar? The sun stayed in the middle of the sky, and it did not set as on a normal day. There has never been a day like this one before or since, when the Lord answered such a prayer. Surely the Lord fought for Israel that day! – Joshua 10:12-14

Observation:
Joshua and the boys from Israel had suffered the great defeat at Ai earlier because of disobedience in the camp. They had made a treaty with a local enemy that had been slated for annihilation because they hadn’t consulted with God about the matter and were left to honor the oath they’d made to protect them. Other groups of their enemies heard about their battle successes and formed a large army to defeat Israel, but God told Joshua not to be afraid and to destroy them. He obeyed, pursued, and destroyed. He even went so far to pray that God hold the sun still for the day. The Lord honored that prayer and held the sun still for 23.5 hours that day until Israel had defeated its enemies.

Application:
The prior day we read of the account where Joshua and the Israeli leadership took matters into their hands and made a peace treaty with their enemies because they failed to inquire of God about it. Thus, Israel became forever bound by their word to protect their sworn enemies, the Hivites from Gibeon. Now, however, we read of the great favor that God showered upon Joshua and Israel because of their obedience.

You see the truth of the matter is that when we make God-honoring decisions, God will show us great favor. He will go to great lengths to ensure the success of his people. Now that is not to say that when they disobey that they won’t suffer the consequences of their actions. For in fact, they will. Our actions, or decisions, do determine our destiny. We discussed that matter yesterday too. Those decisions that honor God bring life whereas those that dishonor God bring cursing or death.

Do you want to see the great favor of God in your life? Then reread the eight (8) steps to making God-honoring decisions, carry them out, and then wait upon God to move on your behalf. Case in point, during the early part of this year, 2015, I was working in a position that nearly drove me crazy, literally. It was God’s provision, but he used the job to teach me many lessons including patience, devotion, endurance, and contentment in even the most ardent of situations. Once I had learned to set aside my discomforts and accept the provision God had given me, things began to change. I had heard the message from Rev. Clardy on making God-honoring decisions, at the end of which he said that those who embrace the message would see God’s GREAT favor in their lives. So I did it embrace it.

Then out of nowhere a software firm from the greater Washington DC metro area calls me and wants to interview me. They found me through rather an obscure location, liked my background in education, talked with me, and eventually brought me on board. While living in Ohio from 2012 – 2015, I’d put out nearly 3,000 resumes only to have one answer the call. I went out of my mind trying to find work that I thought suitable. Once God taught me contentment and showed me the path to his great favor, then it all turned around!

There’s more to the story because the current job is again merely God’s provision because I ultimately work for him not the company at which I work. It is a tool used by him for my sustenance. The Bible tells us to do all things as though unto the Lord, so that’s what I do. Furthermore, God has a bigger project and mission in mind for me here in the area beyond just working for this tremendous organization. There is a spiritual job here, too, that entails addressing the spiritual, political, and cultural atmosphere of the region. I want to continue on the God-honoring, decision-making path that I am on.

I will need his GREAT FAVOR in the coming months ahead throughout the next two years. Things are going to require strict obedience to God’s written and spoken word. I may not see the sun stand still for almost an entire day, but the work ahead is no less fantastic. Thus, I put my trust in God, seek his counsel, and follow his directives. Will you do likewise and see his glory come alive in you?

Prayer:
Father, you know I can’t go live with the mission you’ve set before me because it could cost me everything prematurely. Yes, this mission may eventually cost me all anyway, but let it be at the right time at the end of the mission if need be. I want to honor you in every decision I make not just to have your favor upon my life but to show my love and respect for you! Lead me and teach me all that I need to know to succeed at my job and on the mission you’ve created. Like Jesus said at Gethsemane, “Not my will but yours be done.” Let this ring true in my life, Dad. Thank you for opening my eyes again and inspiring me to return to sharing these daily devotions with the world once more. To you be all glory! In Jesus’ name, Amen.

