Give God the glory!

Scripture:
He also came so that the Gentiles might give glory to God for his mercies to them. – Romans 15:9

Observation:
As Paul closes out his letter to the church in Rome, he notes that those with liberty in Christ shouldn’t do anything that will cause another believer to stumble and sin. He admonishes us to not live to please only ourselves but to prefer others over ourselves much in the same way that Jesus didn’t come to please himself but the Father by serving his fellow man. According to Paul we should accept one another, believers, just as Christ accepted us in that God can be given glory, especially by us non-Jews for the mercies he’s shown us.

Application:
Jesus came that all peoples might give glory to God for his mercies shown to us. The greatest mercy God has shown us is his grace and whereby we are saved through faith and not condemned to a demon’s hell for eternity. We have much in every way to give thanks to God for his mercies. Every day that we are alive, every breath that we take in and out, every morning we wake up, every meal that we eat, and any other thing that we do is reason enough in itself to give God the glory for his mercies. For without his mercies, none of us would be here because, as the scriptures, say none is righteous, no not one. Let us give God the glory for his mercies which are new every morning!

Prayer:
Father, thank you for everything you’ve done for me. I give you glory for all that I am, for without you I am nothing! You loved me enough to give your Son for me and redeem me from a demon’s hell! How could I not give you glory for that mercy alone! Your mercies are new every morning without which I would not be here. You won’t share your glory with another! In Jesus’ name, Amen.

