To God be the glory!

Scripture:
If I let all of you fight the Midianites, the Israelites will boast to me that they saved themselves by their own strength. – Judges 7:2

Observation:
The LORD had turned over the ancient Israelis to their Midianite oppressors because they had once again abandoned him to serve and worship other gods of the Ammonites. The years of suffering went by, and the people of Israel cried out to God to relieve their suffering. God chose the man, Gideon, to be a judge over Israel and to deliver them from the Midianite oppression. When Gideon chose an army to defeat Midian, he had 30,000 soldiers, but God whittled it down to 300 in order that He would get the glory for the victory not Israel. Had he let Israel defeat Midian with such a large force, they would have taken credit for themselves.

Application:
There are times that God removes things from our lives to prevent us from getting the big head and allowing pride to destroy us and pull our love and affection away from him. We have to remember, very simply, that God gets all the glory. It is stated again and again throughout scripture that God will not share His glory with anyone! He created us all that He would get the glory! The very reason we exist is to give God glory! Revelation 4:11 states, You are worthy, O Lord our God, to receive glory and honor and power. For you created all thingsand they exist because you created what you pleased [emphasis added]. What are you about to do in your power and take credit for that you know God should receive the credit? Have you (or I) become proud and forgotten the One who has given us life and our very being and existence? Do we take for granted the blessings and miracles in our lives, even the ones that occur daily like breath, eating, and life itself? For the word is clear, we move and breathe and have our being in Jesus, and in Him alone. Don’t be foolish! Give God the glory for it all from the smallest to the greatest!

Prayer:
Father, I simply thank you for everything in my life. I thank you for what you’ve given to me and what you’ve taken away. You know better than I do what I need and don’t need in my life. May there be nothing in my life that would draw me away from you, for my love is for you alone! I want nothing that will compete for your love and affection. May there be everything that you deem necessary for me to have. May you receive all glory for the things in my life which you’ve given me: job, home, transportation, clothing, food, money, friends, family, and myself. To you be all glory, honor, power, and praise! In Jesus’ name, Amen.

