Not a lot talk but living by God’s power!

Scripture:
For the Kingdom of God is not just a lot of talk; it is living by God’s power. – 1 Corinthians 4:20

Observation:
Paul wrote in this letter to Corinth that they shouldn’t consider themselves to be so high and mighty thinking that they have everything and are in need of nothing. He told them how the apostles all were treated like “garbage” and seemed to be “paraded” in front of people as prisoners of war because of the harsh treatment they’d gone through by the hands of men for the sake of God’s kingdom. Then he told them that the Kingdom of God isn’t just lots of talk but rather living by God’s power.

Application:
Are you and I living in the Kingdom of God? Or, are we just running our jibbers making a lot of noise, as the Word says having a form of Godliness but denying the power thereof! People it’s high time that we do an inventory of ourselves and see if and where there is any pride, arrogance, or spiritual extraordinary bigotry lurking within us! The Pharisees were known for their spiritual hypocrisy and were greatly chided by Jesus for it. They received their reward for their spirituality in this life through the praises of men rather than the praises of God, himself! Let us make sure that we are truly humbling ourselves under the mighty hands of God and not just running our mouths! Let us do like Paul said earlier in the letter, come to people in a demonstration of Holy Spirit power not “high-falutin'” jibber jabber.

Prayer:
Father, thank you for loving me and giving me a teachable spirit. May I never come to the point that I think  I know it all or think that I have it all as did the ancient Corinthians. Yes, I want to work and operate in all the gifts of your Spirit if your Spirit deems so. However, regardless of the mission I am on or the preparation needed for it, I realize that all that I am and all that I do requires your presence, your Spirit, and your glory in my life. I humble myself before you an ask that your will be done in and through me, not mine. Again, thank you for loving me. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

