With sincerity and Christ’s authority.

Scripture:
We preach the word of God with sincerity and with Christ’s authority, knowing that God is watching us. – 2 Corinthians 2:17b

Observation:
In a 3rd letter to the Corinthian church, Paul told them of his authority as an apostle, servant, preacher, teacher, and minister of the good news of Jesus. He spoke of the new covenant with God through Jesus, and that like Jesus, their ministering to others is a sweet-smelling perfume rising up to God to those who believe in God and like a stench of death to those that reject God. In the passage he added that when they preach the word of God it is done with sincerity and authority of Jesus because they know God watched them constantly. There would be a judgment on them for their words, actions, and the resultant behaviors of those that heard that word.

Application:
First and foremost, the ministry given to anyone is done under the choosing, calling, and gifting of the Holy Spirit and then authorized by the Father through Jesus. For without Jesus’ death and resurrection, none of us would be here to this day or would we spend eternity with the Father!

Paul wrote to Ephesus that there are five positions given to the church that are a gift of God to equip the church to do every good work for God’s sake. Those positions are apostles, prophets, evangelists, pastors, and teachers. These positions carry more responsibility and are held to a greater level of scrutiny than others because they’ve been entrusted with equipping and readying God’s people to do his will here on the earth.

Therefore, those called into this group must ensure that they preach the word and do all that God gives them with all sincerity and only under the authority of the Messiah. Anyone who takes on such a role will answer heavily to God for the lives of those entrusted to them. Ezekiel made this clear thousands of years ago when God told him he was called to warn the people of the coming destruction on Israel and Judah in order for people to turn from their wickedness and return to Jehovah. He preached, but they refused to listen. God even warned him that such would happen but to preach it to them anyway. For if he hadn’t warned the people, anyone who died in sin as a result of his dereliction of duty, he would answer to God for their blood!

Has God called you in the ecclesiastical gift to his bride? His church? If so, I urge you to take the role you hold very seriously and to discharge the duties of that role as though your life was in the balance, because it is! He has entrusted us with more than preaching the good news to all people, baptizing converts in the name of the Holy Trinity, and teaching those converted disciples all that Jesus taught the apostles. He has entrusted us to train the trainers. He has entrusted us to build up the army of God to advance his kingdom on the earth during this Age of grace in order to populate eternity. Fulfill your mission as if you had taken an oath,”I, _____, do solemnly [affirm] that I will support and defend the[Kingdom of God] against all enemies, foreign and domestic [by loving my neighbor as myself and loving God with all of my being]; that I will bear true faith and allegiance to the same; and that I will obey the orders of the [LORD God Almighty] and the orders of the officers appointed over me, according to [the Word of God]. So help me God.”

Prayer:
Father, you’ve called me to a position of the ecclesiastical gift and entrusted me with equipping your army to do all manner of good works. I pray thee that I live up to and beyond your expectations of me. I pray thee that I will fulfill the mission you’ve given me to the fullest with disregard for my life in service to you. Should I fail to fully and faithfully discharge my duties, I am aware of the consequence and the severity of said actions. I affirm my reliance upon you to empower me by your Spirit to not only be bold to witness but to be a witness of Yeshua HaMeshiach. May your will be done, not mine. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

 

