Who can stand before the presence of the LORD?

Scripture:
“Who is able to stand in the presence of the Lord, this holy God?” they cried out. – 1 Samuel 6:20

Observation:
The Hebrews had taken the Ark of the Covenant into battle against the Philistines, but they lost the battle and allowed the Ark to be captured. The Ark remained in enemy hands for seven months before it was returned because the LORD sent a plague on the Philistines and killed or ravished many of their people. When the Ark returned to Hebrew territory, the people rejoiced and made sacrifices to the Lord, but 7o men became curious and looked into the Ark. The Lord killed them because they touched his holy throne on earth, which was forbidden and because of the sin in them.

Application:
Like the verse and title of this article state, who can stand before the presence of the Lord? He is holy, holy, holy, and he is the LORD God Almighty! There is none like him. He demands holiness and purity. Sin can have no room in his presence. His very glory causes evil to flee from before him!

We saw it in Jesus in the Garden of Gethsemane on the night of his betrayal. He transformed himself and shone his true glory before the temple guards and the apostles, all of whom fell to the ground like dead men! Is it any wonder that Ezekiel, Daniel, John and other prophets fell down like dead men before the LORD Jesus even though they were in his presence in a spiritual state during a vision?

He is the most supreme being in the universe! Even the statue of the demon Dagon had to bow before the presence of Jehovah! Why? Because the scriptures are clear, I have sworn by my own name; I have spoken the truth, and I will never go back on my word: Every knee will bend to me, and every tongue will declare allegiance to me (Isaiah 45:23) and For the Scriptures say, “‘As surely as I live,’ says the Lord, ‘every knee will bend to me, and every tongue will declare allegiance to God.’” (Romans 14:11)

I am reminded of a song,

Prayer:
Father, thank you for loving me and being my everything! There is none like you, there has never been any like you, and there never will be any like you! You alone are God; you are the great I AM! You are, have been, and always will be! I bow before you and worship you on fallen knees. May your will be done in me and through me by the power of the Holy Spirit through the blood of Yeshua! In the name of Jesus, Amen.

