When God’s with you, you can and will succeed.

Scripture:
David continued to succeed in everything he did, for the LORD was with him. – 1 Samuel 18:14

Observation:
David had killed Goliath. The ladies of Israel praised him more than King Saul. Saul became jealous of David’s success. He would later try to kill David for his success, but he wouldn’t be successful in eliminating David. The Spirit of God had left Saul and was with David mightily. David trusted in God and continued to win battle after battle and became Saul’s best officer simply because God was with him and from David’s obedience to God.

Application:
Today’s application of the passage to our lives is short, sweet, and to the point. Do you want to have success in life whether in God’s terms or even by man’s standard? Then, learn the lesson that David knew all to well. When the LORD is with you, learn to be obedient. God requires these things of us: do justice, love mercy, and walk humbly before him. When we learn to humble ourselves before God, do what’s right, and be gracious towards others, we will see the LORD’s hand on our lives and enjoy his blessing! Why? Because obedience is better than sacrifice, and obedience brings blessing! Live it. Learn it. Love it.

Prayer:
Father, thank you for loving me and giving me your grace. Without your grace, I can do nothing, for it’s in my weak state that you are made strong. Why?  Because your grace is all I need, and in you I can do all things, even those that seem impossible. Help me to succeed in all I do, as did David. I know you’re with me because your Spirit dwells in this temple not made with human hands. I love you and enjoy doing what you desire and require of me. I have again inquired, acquired, and now required to deliver a fateful message from you to this nation of rebellious people whose hard hearts will not accept your message just like ancient Israel. Please reveal to me in time the fullness of that message that I may deliver to my people. I refuse to let myself become ensnared in the evil by which they live. I love you Father. Your will be done, not mine. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

