Thinking for yourself can get you into trouble.

Scripture:
But David kept thinking to himself, “Someday Saul is going to get me. The best thing I can do is escape to the Philistines. Then Saul will stop hunting for me in Israelite territory, and I will finally be safe.”- 1 Samuel 27:1

Observation:
We saw that God gave David a 2nd time to take the life of Saul to test him, but David refused to kill Saul, the anointed of God. The hot pursuit of David by Saul had taken a toll on David. He was worn and weary from running and hiding over the years. Finally, David convinced himself that Saul would one day get him and kill him if he didn’t escape. Thus, David figured that he could go to his enemy’s enemy and live there because Saul wouldn’t track him into Philistine territory. To do so would have meant another war between Israel and Philistia. The king-select took his men and dwelled in Philistine territory for 16 months. He figured hiding out there would at least keep him alive, but he didn’t consult God in the matter, either.

Application:
Have you ever thought, like David, that you had to do something to alleviate your seemingly apparent troubles? I have! I’m sure most honest people would fess up and admit to doing such. However, when we take action in our hands, we usually cause ourselves unintended grief! Why? Because human plans are flawed. There will be mistakes made from the lack of forethought and foresight that isn’t innate in humans. Only Jehovah has the power and ability to see outside of time and know all things! He knows what’s best for us despite ourselves, and He wants us to rely upon Him and come to Him prior to making big plans.

A case in point is that we will soon see that David paid a price for living in the land of his enemy and lying to his benefactor. The town of Ziklag, which King Achish of Gath gave him, became plundered and burned to the ground along with all his family and belongings (and his men’s families too) being taken hostage. David would have to fight another set of enemies to regain his family and possessions. His situation and losses could have been avoided had he sought the Lord in the matter first.

Will we continue to suffer needlessly at our doing? Or, will we learn to trust in the Lord and wait upon him to open the necessary doors and make the providential appointments needed to accomplish what He wants to do through us for the advancement of His kingdom and for His glory? It’s easy to say, “Yes, we will serve the Lord, and Him only!” as did ancient Israel, but are you willing to fully rely upon Him and his choices for your life in order for His blessing and favor to be upon you? Or, will you run and hide among your enemies hoping that they won’t recognize you and won’t betray you? The choice is yours! I do know that Jesus fully relied upon and trusted the Father in every situation even in the worst moments of his earthly life….facing execution! He prayed 3x in great anguish, “nevertheless, not my will, but Your will be done,” even after asking if there was some other way for this situation to be handled.

Prayer:
Father, you brought me to where I am today and ordered me to do the mission that is before me. You informed me in a personal briefing that the occupation I hold is your divine appointment, despite the fact that I am in over my head in a field of which I have practically no knowledge or skills or expertise. I have to trust in You and rely upon the guidance of God the Spirit, who is my counselor and teacher and guide and comforter. He always points me back to God the Son, Jesus, who in turn always points me back to You, God the Father, Jehovah. Please open my eyes and show me the way before me. I am a tad nervous about the lack of knowledge, skills, and abilities needed to do my job for the firm at which I work. However, I am being fully prepped for the spiritual work set before me as ordained by You. As Jesus said, “Not my will, but your will be done.” In Jesus’ name, Amen.

