The rest we find in God from seeking him wholeheartedly.

Scripture:
All in Judah were happy about this covenant, for they had entered into it with all their heart. They earnestly sought after God, and they found him. And the Lord gave them rest from their enemies on every side. – 2 Chronicles 14:15

Observation:
King Asa came to power and ruled in Judah for over 35 years. He followed God of heaven with all his heart during his lifetime, just as David had done. He even faced an army of 1M people from Ethiopia that the Lord defeated because the Jews sought God and trusted him in the battle for the victory. He tore down all the pagan shrines and idols in Judah and even parts of Israel and saw God defeat 500K men of Israel in battle. This eventually led to the Jews taking an oath to seek after and serve only the God of Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob, and anyone who refused to do so would be executed. The people sought the LORD wholeheartedly and saw peace during the better part of Asa’s reign.

Application:
It never ceases to amaze me how the LORD rewards those who diligently seek him, as the Hebraic author wrote in the NT. The Hebraic author also told us that it takes faith to please God and to believe that he exists because he is an invisible God. However, this doesn’t mean that an invisible, Spirit, God cannot and does not exist or take care of his people/family. We need to learn the key factor that those of ancient times learned when it comes to experience the peace of the Almighty. It comes down to one thing — seeking God with all of your heart and mind and soul and strength all the while loving him in the same manner. We have to love YHWH above all else! There is no God but YHWH (Jehovah)! Do you love him with all that you are and who you are? Only in this way will you or I ever experience his peace in this life!

Prayer:
Father, thank you for your love and mercy. I truly want to experience have peace from all my enemies, those who are of this human race and those who sit in places and power of spiritual wickedness, principalities, and high places. The dreams at night have caused me unrest off and on for months if not years. I get no physical peace because of the problematic dreams at night that swirl through my mind. I wake up tired when I should be refreshed and ready and raring to go! I am seeking you with all and who I am. I have my negative moments from time to time, but you’re there and comfort or chastise me through them. For this I am ever grateful. Your will be done, not mine. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

