Keep on keeping on!

Scripture:
The runners went from town to town throughout Ephraim and Manasseh and as far as the territory of Zebulun. But most of the people just laughed at the runners and made fun of them. – 2 Chronicles 30:10

Observation:
Hezekiah had ordered the priests to purify themselves and prepare the temple for restored worship to the Lord. He decided that the people should return to observing the Pesach detailed in the Mosaic Law. He sent messengers out through the whole of Israel and Judah telling them to come to Jerusalem to celebrate the Feast of Pesach. Many people in Israel ridiculed the messengers, but the messengers continued with their mission until they were done. They never ceased from their duties.

Application:
This story speaks loud to me today. God gave me a mission to speak to the leadership of this nation soon and to deliver his message to them. A godly person received a message from God the Holy Spirit and relayed it to me. The message stated,

“Son of man,” he said, “I am sending you to the nation of Israel [USA for me], a rebellious nation that has rebelled against me. They and their ancestors have been rebelling against me to this very day. They are a stubborn and hard-hearted people. But I am sending you to say to them, ‘This is what the Sovereign Lord says!’ And whether they listen or refuse to listen—for remember, they are rebels—at least they will know they have had a prophet among them.

“Son of man, do not fear them or their words. Don’t be afraid even though their threats surround you like nettles and briers and stinging scorpions. Do not be dismayed by their dark scowls, even though they are rebels. You must give them my messages whether they listen or not. But they won’t listen, for they are completely rebellious! Son of man, listen to what I say to you. Do not join them in their rebellion. Open your mouth, and eat what I give you.”  (Ezekiel 2:3-8)

So you see, I have to continue on with my mission (Open your mouth, and eat what I give you.) to deliver the message, This is what the Sovereign Lord says!” I can’t allow naysayers to deter me from accomplishing the mission God set before me. I have to press on toward the high calling of God set before me. The men Hezekiah sent never allowed people to distract or deter or prevent them from completing their rounds and getting the word out about Pesach. Well, the leaders of our nation will hear the word from God the Father to be delivered by this messenger/megaphone of the Lord. They will not listen nor respond to the Lord’s warning to come back to him and repent of our sins as a nation. I can’t make them listen or do what God says, but they will hear the Truth!

Prayer:
Father, thank you for using me to help accomplish your goals in the earth, the Missio Dei. Thank you for loving me and having me as a son in your family. I answered the call in February to pick up the mantle of Ezekiel to deliver your message in the spirit of Elijah with the humility of Jeremiah. I have rallied myself to be as zealous for you and your Word as much as Phinehas was in stopping the plague destroying Israel because of their sinning against you. I have done all that you’ve asked me to do thus far: 1) I accepted the mission, 2) I accepted the job near D.C., 3) I left my family and all that I knew in Ohio, 4) I trusted you, 5) I began to make God-honoring decisions, and 6) I expected to see your great favor working in my life because of accepting this mission. You have not disappointed me or refused me. I patiently await the next move, which I know is your arranging things and people to be in key positions at appointed times to get me into the Executive Mansion to deliver the message you’ve prepared for me. Thus, I humble myself before your mighty hand and tarry for the time and message you appoint. I will not deviate from this mission because its your will to be done, not mine. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

