Just the way God blesses us for being faithfully obedient.

Scripture:
In all that he did in the service of the Temple of God and in his efforts to follow God’s laws and commands, Hezekiah sought his God wholeheartedly. As a result, he was very successful. – 2 Chronicles 31:21

Observation:
Hezekiah had re-instituted the practice of observing Pesach in Israel and Judah. The people had come from all over the nation to celebrate and gave tithes of all they had produced according to the Law of Moses to the point that there was such surplus that the people had to be told to hold off. The goods brought in were given to the priests and Levites as per God’s instructions. Thus Hezekiah enjoyed success in all he did regarding the service of the temple and following God’s laws and commands. The Lord blessed him for his obedience and faithfulness.

Application:
I don’t know about anyone else, but I want to enjoy (and do) enjoy the blessing of the LORD for being obedient and faithful to him. The one thing I’ve learned from the years of reading God’s Word is that obedience brings blessing. You can carve that into stone and take it to the bank. God is faithful to bless his children who follow His plan and do what He tells them. It is not a hard thing! The hard part is swallowing our pride and taking up the mission that God sets before us. Hezekiah was sure to follow the Word of the Lord and was rewarded with blessing and peace during his reign. We, too, can enjoy peace and blessing from having been obedient to our heavenly Father. I am reminded of the words of Jesus, “Why do you call me LORD LORD, yet don’t do my commandments?” Do we really believe God will do what He says in His Word? IF we do, then we obey willingly and faithfully. The result is God’s blessing.

Prayer:
Father, thank you for loving me and being my God, Savior, and Redeemer. Thank you for showing the truth of your Way, Will, and Word. There is no other Way. Jesus is that Way! Without you, Jesus, and the Holy Spirit, I would not be here and would be lost and dead in my sins, yet you show me repeatedly that you love me and want to bless me. I have learned that your blessing comes when I follow your lead and command. Teach me how to stay on your path and complete the work you’ve given me. I have enjoyed your blessing all my life and want to continue doing so. Thanks once more. YOUR will be done, not mine. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

