There’s always a good reason to praise God#

Scripture:
Many sacrifices were offered on that joyous day, for God had given the people cause for great joy. The women and children also participated in the celebration, and the joy of the people of Jerusalem could be heard far away. – Nehemiah 12:43

Observation:
The wall of the city had been rebuilt. The priests were in place to give praise to God according to the command given by King David. The people were assembled to celebrate. Because God had done so much for the people, they had good reason to make a joyful noise unto the Lord!

Application:
In many church circles, depending on the denominational affiliation, the idea of making a joyful noise unto the Lord would be seen as heretical or even disrespectful or undignified. With no offense to my brethren of other ideals, I do declare that I will be like King David and be more undignified than this and worship my Lord in dance, shouting, singing, playing music, and even an occasional blast of the shofar! Why would I do such things? My God saved me from a demon’s hell, wiped away my sin record, gave me eternal life in Jesus, and made me a part of his very family! Why wouldn’t I make a joyful noise unto the Lord that can be heard far away, as did the people of Israel that came back from the Babylonian exile!

Prayer:
Father, thank you for loving me enough to save me from myself, my sin, and my past. You love me as one of your own. The very fact that I get to spend eternity with you is way more than enough for me to give you praise and honor and glory! May you reign forever! I love you! Thank you! In Jesus’ name, Amen.

