Humility brings on God’s favor.

Scripture:
“Excellent!” the king said to Haman. “Quick! Take the robes and my horse, and do just as you have said for Mordecai the Jew, who sits at the gate of the palace. Leave out nothing you have suggested!” – Esther 6:10

Observation:
Mordecai, uncle to the queen, refused to bow or kneel before the viceroy of the king, which was illegal  by Jewish law to do and illegal under Persian law to do. The viceroy was arrogant and thought more of himself than he should. He learned that the king was going honor someone, so in his pride he stated that the king should go all out to honor this person the king had in mind, which turned out to be Mordecai the enemy of Haman. Haman had to parade the Jewish man on horseback through the city and proclaim that this was how the king chose to honor him.

Application:
The apostle Peter would write much later in time under Holy Spirit direction that we are to humble ourselves under the mighty hand of God, and then He will exalt us in due time. The Scriptures also state elsewhere that God gives grace to the humble but resists the proud. God exalted Mordecai to a place of honor through the doings of the Persian king because he humbled himself and would not defile himself by bowing to a human. Mordecai had only one King, and that was Jehovah! When we learn to humble ourselves before God, He will exalt us to places we never thought possible, just as Mordecai experienced. Mordecai would even go on to become the prime minister of the Persian Empire. Do you want to experience great favor with God the Father and man? Then do as Mordecai did; learn to be humble!

Prayer:
Father, thank you for showing me today that the truth of being honored is for one to reduce their ego and increase their worship of you. I’m continuing to learn and understand the importance of total reliance upon your provision. I could be out on the streets trying to eek out an existence through the generosity of others or panhandling or digging through dumpsters. Instead, I have all that I need and all that I want simply because I put my trust in you and do my best to be an obedient son and servant. Help me to demonstrate the beauty of humility to others as I walk in it before you. You stated that the three things you require of your children is that we do justice, love mercy, and walk humbly before you. I pray that your Spirit will teach me the fine art of being meek and lowly as Jesus was. Thank you for all you’ve done for me, Papa. I love you, and ask that your will be done, not mine. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

