Whether you do or don’t….

Scripture:
Instead, I suffer if I defend myself, and I suffer no less if I refuse to speak. – Job 16:6

Observation:
Job tried to defend himself against the railing accusations from his three closest friends, but he found himself on the short end of the stick in a losing proposition. The friends thought they were helping him but were really tearing him down spiritually. Whether he tried to defend himself or nor, he suffered at the hands and tongues of those closest to him.

Application:
There are those times in life where it doesn’t do any good to defend oneself or not. People will talk about you no matter what. Some may think they are helping, but in reality, they’re tearing to shreds with their judgmental words and condemnation. They may accuse of trying to do right and then who do you think you are? This kind of talk never helps anyone; it only cuts. The key is to put our trust in the Lord and let him handle our situation. The more we try to defend or back away from the situation, the more we only put ourselves into jeopardy.

Prayer:
Father, thank you for loving me and being the doting Father that you are. You gave me the gift of eternal life in Jesus and sealed me until the day of redemption through the gift of your Holy Spirit. How much more could a person want or need? You are the source of all that I am and have. Thank you for being there for me with words of comfort and joy when others would only try to discourage or tear down. I need so desperately your kindness and peace. May your will be done in me. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

