Just keeping it real!

Scripture:
Where have you gotten all these wise sayings? Whose spirit speaks through you? – Job 26:4

Observation:
Bildad came through, not, for Job once more. He tried to explain the might of God and show Job just how splendid were the ways of God. Job, however, turned the tables back on Bildad and crew and told them how much good they’d done with their comments and berating him. Lastly he asked them in a sarcastic tone where they’d gotten all their information and who gave them the right to speak to him in the manner they did? Job was just keeping it real!

Application:
Have you ever just sat and listened to someone go on and on trying to sound like they had all the answers and knew exactly what to do all the time? Well, I used to be that guy! Trust me; I know all too well. Ha! Sometimes, though, when you’re on the other side of the fence, you just have to keep it real. There is nothing wrong with telling someone to just lay off and ease up. You don’t have to go crazy and become like them and fall into the same trap they were in; however, you don’t have to take a tongue lashing. Be cool about it. Let them know you don’t appreciate the dissertation in judgmental accusations. Then just forgive them, love them, and move on. The best you can do is just keep it real.

Prayer:
Father, thank you for showing me tonight that it is okay to keep it real with people, especially when they are trying to put the screw to you. We don’t have to act like them and succumb to the same temptations and sin in which they mired themselves, but we don’t have to stand and be a target either. We can choose to walk away with our dignity and integrity intact. Help me to be real at all times. I used to be the guy who seemed like he was a KIA, know it all, but I have now learned to be humble and not so hot-headed. May I continue to walk in humility before you and love others as I love myself. Your will be done above all else. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

