Like a wine skin ready to burst!

Scripture:
For I am full of pent-up words, and the spirit within me urges me on. – Job 32:18

Observation:
Job’s three elder friends ceased from trying to convince him of his sin and trying to correct him because Job insisted on his innocence. Finally, the younger man, Elihu, spoke up in turn. He had waited out of respect for the older men to finish and then began to rebuke Job in the same fashion despite his youth. This younger man spoke more truthful things about God unlike the older men. He felt like a wine skin ready to burst if he didn’t get an opportunity to speak.

Application:
Although Elihu’s reference to his condition was in response to his frustration with Job and his friends, his comment is one we can all learn from. He said that he was about to burst from no being able to speak because the spirit (Spirit) urged him on to speak. We must be careful as to what “spirit” we allow to urge us on and to speak to us, but nonetheless, I use this illustration to make my point.

There are times when the Spirit of Almighty God speaks to us, a daily occurrence if we yield to him. During these times, there are moments when I feel the same way as did Elihu. The Spirit gives me a message to share with someone or the world, but it may not be the time to express said message. Hence, patience must be exercised and await the correct, proper time for its delivery. In that waiting period, though, frustration can set or attempt to set in. It is then that I must ask the God of heaven to help me refrain from acting in my ability and wait for his signal.

Thus, when I feel frustrated and want to speak up, I have to check myself and be sure that it is the Spirit of God telling me to go forth and not me. Humility and patience and obedience are key here. With those three things in place, I can be assured that the message will always be on time to the right audience with the right intent. I won’t have to endure the continued frustration of a Elihu.

Prayer:
Father, thank you for showing me the truth of patience and relying upon you. I could go off half-cocked and do things in my power rather than under your Spirit’s leading only to reap the negative consequences that occur. No, I choose to be humble before you and trust you to give me the go ahead signal when it’s right to do what you’ve called me to do. I am still learning to be still and know that you are God. Your will be done! In Jesus’ name, Amen.

