Having personal, intimate knowledge of God.

Scripture:
I had only heard about you before, but now I have seen you with my own eyes. – Job 42:5

Observation:
After all the chiding and berating that Job suffered at the hands of his friends and all of the spouting off at the mouth that Job did about his innocence, he faced the ultimate inquisitor. God finally showed up and had a few things to ask Job personally. Once Job realized the futility of his words, he quickly acknowledged his ignorance of God and stated that he spoke about things he knew nothing of. He repented before God and man for running off at the mouth. He said that personal knowledge of God showed him the error of his ways and how little he knew about God.

Application:
Simply put, it’s not enough to know about God. We have to know God personally. We can study the Bible from birth to death and know every fact and detail written about God, but what good does it do? If all I ever know about someone is what I’ve heard about that one, then I have limited knowledge and understanding of who that person is. I am likely to draw incorrect conclusions about the individual. Instead for me to know that person, I have to get to know who they are in person, one on one. The same is true with God. We can know of him through sermons, books, the Scriptures, stories, and host of other media, but we can’t know him until we have a relationship with him. God desires for us to be his children and friends where we communicate and commune with him daily and bond as family.

Prayer:
Father, thank you for taking a personal interest in me as your son. I want to know more of you than just facts. I want to know you personally as my friend and my Father. I want to know Jesus as my brother and Savior and Lord. I want to know the Holy Spirit as my teacher, guide, and counselor. I want to know you, God. Commune with me and live in me. I desire nothing less. Your will be done. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

