The life-giving power of God’s Word.

Scripture:
Then hetaught me and said to me, “Let your hearthold fast my words; Keep my commandments and live.”

Observation:
Solomon continues sharing with us the wise teachings from his father, David. The author notes here in this passage that Dad tells him to hold fast to the teachings he’s giving. Those instructions will bring life to the ones who follow it.

Application:
We can trust these words because they are basically a rewording of David’s writings of Psalm 119:9-13,

How can a young man keep his way pure? By keeping it according to Your word. With all my heart I have sought You; do not let me wander from Your commandments. Your word I have treasured in my heart that I may not sin against You. Blessed are You, O Lord; teach me Your statutes. With my lips I have told of all the ordinances of Your mouth.

When we keep God’s commandments out of love for him (not because it’s a list of dos or die), we demonstrate our respect for his life-giving wisdom. David would go on to tell Solomon that observing God’s Word brings life to the soul and health to the bones. Solomon quotes this in our chapter 3, verse 7-8, “Be not wise in thine own eyes: fear the Lord, and depart from evil. It shall be health to thy navel, and marrow to thy bones.“

Paul teaches us that the wages (penalty) of sin is death (physical and eternal, spiritual separation from God), but the gift of God eternal life through Jesus the Anointed One, our Lord. Keeping God’s Word brings life; anything short of that is death. There are two doors before us today: death and life. Let’s choose life by honoring our Father and the sacrifice of our Lord Jesus the Anointed One by doing what they tell us. Remember, Jesus told the apostles, and hence us, “If you love me, keep my commandments.”

Prayer:
Father, thank you for giving us freedom to worship you, to be reconciled to you, to be loved by you, and to be adopted into your family. Jesus, you chose willingly to take our place and became sin for us to pay the debt we owed for our sins, which we are unable to pay because of our fallen state before we come to you and that animal blood cannot do it either. Help me to truly hide your Word in my heart, so that in the days when sinners entice me, or my own lusts try to drag me down, your Spirit will remind me of the Truth and set me free from falling into sin. I really do want only your will to be done in my life and not mine. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

