Don’t blame God!

Scripture:
People ruin their lives by their own foolishness and then are angry at the Lord. – Proverbs 19:3

Observation:
The wise author teaches us a really simple lesson today and is one that we all need to take to heart. We tend to do things that complicate our lives. Often people become frustrated with the negative consequences of their actions and then want to blame God for it. It doesn’t work that way.

Application:
I have to admit that there were times in my life that I totally messed up and wanted to blame God for the situation in which I found myself mired. I can only recall one time where I actually did blame God for my predicament and then found out that it was indeed me that caused the problem. I never felt so foolish in my life. The reason we tend to get angry with God when things go awry is because we try to force the hand of God in making something happen that should have happened when he deemed best. We all need to learn to be still and know that God is God. He has the best plan for our lives and knows way better what’s good for us than we do. Thus, if we go off in haste trying to control our lives, we will find ourselves mired in bad situations from which we will have to live out the consequences. Let’s learn to trust God and let his Spirit lead us and guide us into all truth.

Prayer:
Father, thank you for your truth. You know infinitely more than we could ever think or imagine. Thus, it is pure folly for us to try to dictate to you what should happen in our lives or try to command your hand in anything. If anything we should learn from the example of Abram and Sarah in the birth of Ishmael. That one incident to try to make your promise come true has caused the needless deaths of millions of Jews over the years at the hands of their enemies, who are the offspring of their half-brother! May your hand guide us and make a way for us instead of us trying to make it happen and then get all jacked up and blame it on you. Forgive us for our pride and arrogance for thinking we can make you do anything. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

 

