The anchor of our soul – God does not change.

Scripture:
This hope is a strong and trustworthy anchor for our souls. It leads us through the curtain into God’s inner sanctuary. –  Hebrews 6:19

Observation:
The author begins telling us that we have a High Priest in Jesus according to the order of the Righteous King, Melchizedek. He has endured all we will endure to know what it is to suffer as a human and to be able to comfort us in our hour of need. However, the author notes that because Jesus is our High Priest, we have a hope to which we can anchor our souls and not have to worry about the future or the unknown. God’s unchanging way gives us assurance of the future and that we will spend eternity with him.

Application:
So many people in this world fret over everything from the littlest problem to the major issues of our day. They let these so-called problems dictate their lives and fester into stress-filled days that bring on health issues of a spiritual, mental, and physical nature. They allow these things to create worry and anxiety and fear rather than trusting in God fully. We need to learn to live the FROG’s life in that we Fully Rely On God instead of ourselves. Once we realize and begin to practice operating in the power of the Holy Spirit, we will have that anchoring hope of Jesus. We can reach the place where the threat of giving our lives as a martyr for Jesus looks like an early ticket into eternity rather than fearing the loss of life. To those that would take my life for the sake of heaven’s kingdom I say, “threaten me with a good  time.” I know in whom  I believe and trust and have a blessed hope, Jesus!

Prayer:
Father, it’s not that I want to exit life any sooner than I am supposed to, but I do look forward to spending eternity with you! Thank you for calling me, choosing me, and teaching me how to be faithful to you until the end. It is in my trusting you to stay firm and true to your Word, Jesus, that I have a hope that anchors my faith and dispels fear and worry. While others fear the loss of money, power, family, or food even, I know that you have it all in perspective and are in total control. Because of your steadfastness, I can and am stable in this uncertain world. Thank your for that! May your will be done in me and through me. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

