Why is my sleep so messed up at times?

Scripture:
 So what do people get in this life for all their hard work and anxiety? Their days of labor are filled with pain and grief; even at night their minds cannot rest. It is all meaningless. – Ecclesiastes 2:22-23

Observation:
Solomon, the wisest of the wise outside of Jesus, wrote nearly  1,500 proverbs and wrote hundreds of songs. Among the saying of his wisdom, we have the accounts of his all is vanity and wind-chasing discourse on life. The book of Ecclesiastes is filled with wisdom about the futility of chasing after more things. He says we never have enough and are never satisfied in our humanity. In this passage from the 2nd chapter, Solomon explains that people who work hard and have some anxiety find their lives filled with pain, grief, sleepless nights, and meaninglessness.

Application:
There have been many times in my life where I have tossed and turned all night trying to get to sleep. I found myself staring at the walls and ceiling wondering why I couldn’t get to sleep. For one thing my mind wouldn’t shut off. I could be dog tired but have my brain scrambling in a thousand directions all the while hoping and praying for a moment’s rest and some quietude to drift off. Now, I know why my mind won’t shut off at times. It’s because the pain and grief of trying to live a meaningful life and not doing so solely in and by the power of the Holy Spirit has produced anxiety and frustration at times, which produces unrest in the mind and leads to long nights of sleeplessness. Well, I am going to do better at fully relying on God (FROG) and hopping on over to the Holy Spirit and allowing him to guide me and lead me instead of being rambunctious and slap-happy. It’s the wisdom of David that prevails here, “Be still and know that God is God.” (Ps. 46:10) There is a peace to be found in letting God have full control that cannot be explained in human terms. It has to be experienced, not discussed.

Prayer:
Father, tonight I come to you with mental exhaustion over my friends, family, faith, finances, and future. I know that in you alone do I live, move, and have my being, but I need to revisit an old well where deep, cool, living water bursts forth and gives me life, abundant life that can only come from Jesus. Help me to immerse in that living water and to relax in its soothing qualities. I love you and need you more than ever before in my life. May I have a peaceful night’s rest, where as Solomon said, I will have sweet sleep when I lay my head down tonight. I thank you in advance for that rest. Your will be done. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

