Not quitting!

Scripture:
If your boss is angry at you, don’t quit! A quiet spirit can overcome even great mistakes. – Ecclesiastes 10:4

Observation:
The Teacher tells us one piece of wisdom here that applies on our jobs. He says not to quit your job if the boss is mad at you. Why? He says that a quiet spirit can overcome even the big mistakes!

Application:
This proverb of wisdom reminds me of another passage of holy scripture where an apostle wrote that love conquers a multitude of sin! Since love doesn’t boast or get puffed up, we can see that love is quiet and pleasant and peaceful. Didn’t Jesus teach us that blessed are the peacemakers for they will be called the children of God? Therefore, it behooves us to learn to not give up or walk out when the situation at work gets escalated to a feverish pitch by the boss. We need to hold our ground but ensure we are walking in humility and do as Paul taught, “do all things as though unto the Lord.” We are to do so he teaches even when the boss is not looking. Are we helping to solve the problems at work through our humility and servitude or stirring up strife with lots of words and attitude?

Prayer:
Father, thank you for your supremacy over everything! You are the King and the Lord of all! There is no one like you. Thank you for my job and that I have one. You know my situation at work is not one of the boss being mad, but I do struggle with wanting to leave the firm because I don’t really know anything about the business I’m in or the product we sell. I do what I can where I can how I can. I would, personally, like to be somewhere doing something I know and am better suited for in my eyes, yet you know better than I do what is best for me. Good is not always from you, God. I want best not good. I will walk in your leading. By grace I can do all things in Jesus, who gives me strength. Your will be done, not mine. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

