People scoff at me for telling the truth.

Scripture:
People scoff at me and say, “What is this ‘message from the Lord’ you talk about? Why don’t your predictions come true?” – Jeremiah 17:15

Observation:
Jeremiah had obviously been ridiculed by the Jews for telling them the truth about their coming future doom, as foretold to him by God. They didn’t believe him and must have frequently questioned him as to why the things he said hadn’t come to pass. The sad part was that he was spot on and told them nothing but what God had said. They trusted in their false prophets and wicked kings to provide for them and protect them rather than rely solely upon the God of Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob.

Application:
America, wake up! Here the word of the LORD for this nation in this day and age!

God once said, If I announce that a certain nation or kingdom is to be uprooted, torn down, and destroyed, but then that nation renounces its evil ways, I will not destroy it as I had planned. He continued by saying,  And if I announce that I will plant and build up a certain nation or kingdom, but then that nation turns to evil and refuses to obey me, I will not bless it as I said I would. Therefore, do you not hear the words of the LORD regarding us here in America? There is still a hope that we can stay the hand of God’s judgment, not forever, for  a while longer if we humble ourselves, pray, and turn from our wicked ways. However, we are a nation established by God to be a blessing to the world, but we have turned our backs on him and should no longer expect his blessing or protection. The day of reckoning is close at hand for this once humble and God-fearing nation, which has become proud and self-reliant!

Now hear what the LORD has in store for us as a people and nation, Therefore…go and warn all…Say to them, ‘This is what the Lord says: I am planning disaster for you instead of good. So turn from your evil ways, each of you, and do what is right. We in turn, like ancient Jews have replied, Don’t waste your breath. We will continue to live as we want to, stubbornly following our own evil desires. Therefore, because of our defiance of the Almighty, he has spoken to us these words, in all their trouble I will turn my back on them and refuse to notice their distress. 

The people have chosen to rail against men and women in my position of watchmen forewarning people to turn from their sins and wicked ways, repent, and give their lives to God and have a personal relationship with Jesus in order that they might have eternal life. They say, Come on, let’s plot a way to stop [this]. We have plenty of priests and wise men and prophets. We don’t need him to teach the word and give us advice and prophecies. Let’s spread rumors about him and ignore what he says. The future is in your hands people. You’ve been warned time and again and will continue to be, but the outcome lies on you!

Prayer:
Father, I love you and thank you for making me your own. Thank you for being there for me when no one else is. Your love and provision is all that I need and more than I could ever want! However, here is my prayer this evening. It echoes the words of your servant Jeremiah. Lord, hear me and help me! Listen to what my enemies are saying. Should they repay evil for good? They have dug a pit to kill me, though I pleaded for them  and tried to protect them from your anger. So let their children starve! Let them die by the sword! Let their wives become childless widows. Let their old men die in a plague, and let their young men be killed in battle! Let screaming be heard from their homes as warriors come suddenly upon them. For they have dug a pit for me and have hidden traps along my path. Lord, you know all about their murderous plots against me. Don’t forgive their crimes and blot out their sins. Let them die before you. Deal with them in your anger. Your will be done, not mine. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

 

