You reap what you sow, good or bad.

Scripture:
You will eat the fruit of your labor; 
blessings and prosperity will be yours. – Psalm 128:2

Observation:
The psalmist wrote a song of ascents that is attributed to times when Hebrews would make their pilgrimage to the city of Zion to bring their sacrifices and offerings to the tabernacle and late the temples during the appointed times of the year.

Application:
The psalmist stated that we will eat the fruit of our labor with blessing and prosperity being ours. But when and how do these two come to be part of our possessions? We have to look back at prior verse, Blessed are all who fear the Lordwho walk in obedience to him. Are we fearing the LORD in true reverence of who he is as LORD and Savior and Creator and Sovereign? Are we walking in obedience to his word? 

So many would say that this thought or interrogative speaks of legalism  and servitude rather than relationship? But did we not obey our earthly parents while they were among (or still are)? Did we not have relationship with them as their physical offspring and do what was asked of us? Many have done so out of obligation or coercion, but not all of us. Some of us did what our parents asked because they loved us and we loved them. I know i saw the blessing of my dad in this life whenever I obeyed out of love not duty. So it is with our heavenly Father. He loves to bless us when we obey him.

Thus, we have to look at our premise once more. You will eat the fruit of your labor. If you so until corruption, you will reap such. If you so unto life, you will reap such. Be not deceived, for God is not mocked. Whatever a man sows, that he will reap. I want to continue enjoying the blessing of my Father, so I will do what he asks of me and also what he tells me to do. What say you?

Prayer:
Father, thank you for all that you have done for me in this life. You’ve always managed somehow to see that I have had what I needed and even more so what I wanted. I have never really ever been without because I’ve always had shelter, food, and clothing. I may have gone up and down the ladder of earthly success, but you’ve always made a way. Even when I distorted things and made messes of situations, you pulled me out of the muck and gave me new life. There are consequences that I have endured and continue to endure from unwise choices, but your mercy and grace have sustained me through it all. For all of this, I praise your glorious name and gave all credit to the LORD JESUS the ANOINTED ONE! May your will always be done, not mine. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

