Learn to take off one day a week!

Scripture:
Then God blessed the seventh day and made it holy, because on it he rested from all the work of creating that he had done. – Genesis 2:3

Observation:
After creating the universe and seeing that all that he’d created was spectacular, God rested from his work. He took a day off and ordered the day of rest to be a holy day.

Application:
Why is it that we, humans, work ourselves to the bone trying to get ahead in this temporal world through working? We work from sun up to sundown and seven days a week without rest! God in all his wisdom and glory took one day in a week to rest and call for a period of rest. Thus, we should do likewise. I’m not one to cry over what day of the week a person takes as a day of rest, but we all need that time to allow our bodies rest, recovery, and time spent with the Father. He said again and again that in six days we will do our work. So take a break once a week and get to know the Father in order to keep from becoming physically weak.

Prayer:
Father, thank you for this new year. You have allowed me to continue on into 2016 because you have a plan and purpose for me that needs to be fulfilled. Help me to never become so busy that I don’t have time for you. I  know there is a lot going on at work, but even there, you comfort me and help me to relax and get the job done. You are the source of my joy and happiness, not people or things. You are my steadfast source of comfort and solace. I love you and want to be ready and able to do all that you’ve assigned me to do, not dragging along hoping to get through the next day. Your will be done, not mine. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

