Your actions affect more than just you.

Scripture:
But the Lord inflicted serious diseases on Pharaoh and his household because of Abram’s wife Sarai. – Genesis 12:17

Observation:
Famine hit the land of Canaan, and Abram traveled to Egypt to buy feed for his crew and animals. When they arrived in Egypt, Abram told his wife to tell Egyptians that she was his sister. Thus, when Egyptians approached her because of her beauty and to make her a wife of Pharaoh, she lied to them as Abram had said. The LORD unleashed a disease on Pharaoh for taking in Abram’s wife as his own, even though he was innocent of wrongdoing. Pharaoh gave Sarai back to Abram and forced them to leave Egypt because of their treachery and deceit.

Application:
Your actions and words have far greater impact and reach than you may think or know. One man and one woman lied to an entire group of people about their status and relationship, which caused the royal house of Egypt to suffer great pain and anguish from disease. Sure, Abram tried to save his skin by lying to the king of Egypt, which did him no real harm. However, it did affect others, who in their minds thought they were free to do as they did. Be sure that you stop and think about your thoughts, words, and actions and how they will impact others before you do or say something you’ll regret heavily later. There will be a consequence to be paid by all involved, both the innocent and the guilty.

Prayer:
Father, thank you for reminding me today that actions and words do have consequences. They go far beyond what the perpetrator may realize. I know I have caused others harm by my words and actions, and others have wronged me likewise through theirs. Help me to be more cognizant of the possible impact that my words and actions could have upon others. I don’t intend to harm people in word or deed, but at times, these do happen. If and when it should happen, help me to be quick to forgive others and quick to ask for forgiveness of others. I love you, Dad. I want nothing but your will to be done, not mine. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

